將MBR轉換為GPT Windows Server 2012 R2 無數據丟失

作者:Allen,更新於:2021年10月8日

硬盤驅動器變得更大,通常使用 2TB 或 4TB 磁盤。 很多服務器內置了硬件RAID陣列,虛擬磁盤可能大於10TB。 如果用5個3TB硬盤搭建RAID 3陣列,磁碟管理中的虛擬磁盤為6GB。 如果此盤初始化為 MBR,則只能使用 2TB 空間,剩餘的4TB磁盤空間顯示為 未配置 在末尾。 此空間不能用於創建新卷或擴展其他分區。 要使用完整的磁盤空間,您必須 將磁盤從MBR轉換為GPT. 如果一個磁盤上有 4 個分區並且 Windows 不允許創建更多卷,您還需要將 MBR 磁盤更改為 GPT。 在本文中,我將介紹如何將 MBR 轉換為 GPT Windows Server 2012 (R2) 帶有 MBR2GPT 命令工具和第三方磁盤轉換器。

Server 2012中MBR轉GPT的磁碟管理(破壞性)

要將MBR轉換為GPT Windows Server 2012 R2有幾種方法。 Windows 具有內置的磁碟管理和diskpart命令工具來幫助轉換磁盤類型,但是您必須 刪除所有分區 提前在 MBR 磁盤上。

在diskpart命令提示符窗口中,鍵入 help convert GPT 您將看到convert命令的語法,註釋和示例。

Diskpart轉換

在磁碟管理控制台中,右鍵單擊MBR磁盤的正面時,還有一個選項,但是“轉換成GPT磁盤" 如果上面有分區,則該選項會變灰。

Convert is grayed

使用MBR2GPT.exe(Microsoft提供)和 NIUBI Partition Editor,你可以 在 Server 2012 中將 MBR 轉換為 GPT 而不會丟失數據。 在開始之前,請確保要轉換的MBR磁盤是數據磁盤或系統磁盤,因為方法不同。

非系統盤如何將MBR轉GPT(無損)

如果 MBR 盤上只有數據,將其轉換為 GPT 非常容易且快速且不會丟失數據,只需點擊幾下即可。

將MBR轉換為GPT的步驟 Windows Server 2012 R2(不含操作系統):

  1. 下載 NIUBI Partition Editor,右鍵單擊 的前面 MBR磁盤,然後選擇“轉換成GPT磁盤".
  2. 只需點擊 確認,然後添加一個掛起的操作。
  3. 點擊 Apply 在左上方執行,完成。 (點擊之前的所有操作 Apply 僅適用於虛擬模式。)

觀看視頻,了解如何將磁盤從MBR轉換為GPT Windows Server 2012:

Video guide

如何將MBR轉換為GPT Windows Server 2012 用於系統磁盤

如果MBR盤上有操作系統,那就有點複雜了,因為所有的系統文件都必須保持完整,並且在轉換為GPT後操作系統必須正確啟動。 有一些第三方軟件聲稱可以將 MBR 磁盤轉換為帶有操作系統的 GPT,但很少有人能夠確保 100% OFF 系統可引導。 如果要將系統盤從 MBR 轉換為 GPT,建議運行 MBR2GPT.exe 這是一個命令提示符工具,由 Microsoft 提供。

Server 2012 mbr2gpt.exe命令提示符

MBR2GPT.exe 正在從命令提示符運行。 上 Windows Server 2019 及 Windows 10 (1703及更高版本),您可以使用以下命令將MBR轉換為GPT Windows. 但是要在 Server 2 (R2012) 中運行 mbr2gpt,您需要可啟動媒體 Windows 預安裝環境(Windows PE)。

使用 MBR2GPT 轉換磁盤 Windows 2012服務器,您的磁盤分區必須滿足以下要求。 否則,轉換無法成功。 但是不要擔心,在對磁盤進行任何更改之前,MBR2GPT 會驗證所選磁盤的佈局和幾何形狀,如果這些檢查中的任何一項失敗,則轉換將不會繼續並返回錯誤消息。 您的磁盤分區不會被損壞。

在 Server 2 R2012 中運行 MBR2GPT cmd 的前提條件:

  1. 應該沒有 邏輯磁碟機 在這個 MBR 磁盤上。
  2. 應該有 3 或更少的此MBR磁盤上的主要磁碟分區。
  3. 分區之一設置為活動分區,即係統分區。
  4. 此MBR磁盤上的所有分區均為 確認 by Windows,這意味著沒有EXT2 / EXT3以及其他類型的Linux或Mac分區。

常見問題及相應的解決方案

"Validating layout, disk sector size is: 512 bytes Disk layout validating failed for disk 0", "MBR2GPT: Conversion failed"。 這是將MBR磁盤轉換為GPT時最常見的錯誤消息 Windows Server 2012 和其他版本。 如果收到此錯誤,請再次檢查磁盤分區配置。

Partition layout

在大多數 Windows 2012服務器的系統磁盤上,有System Reserved,C :(對於OS)和D槽。 如果所有這些分區都是 ,您可以成功將磁盤轉換為 GPT。 如果您的磁盤分區佈局不符合要求,請按照以下方法進行修改:

  1. 如果有 邏輯磁碟機, 轉換成小學 (沒有數據丟失)。
  2. 如果有4個主要磁碟分割,請按照以下步驟操作 將一個移動到另一個磁盤.
  3. 如果沒有支持的分區,則必須移動文件並刪除該分區。

展開系統保留分區 (可選)

為 Windows 在轉換後保持可引導狀態, EFI 系統分區(ESP)必須到位。 MBR2GPT將首先縮小“系統保留”分區。 如果“系統保留”分區中的可用空間不足,則MBR2GPT將收縮C槽,然後 EFI 轉換為GPT磁盤後,將在C槽後面創建分區。

EFI partition

右鍵單擊 EFI 磁碟管理中的分區,所有選項都變灰。 這意味著磁碟管理不能縮小或擴大這個分區。 然而,這並不重要 NIUBI Partition Editor,因為它可以收縮,延伸和移動 EFI 分區而不會丟失其中的文件。

如果你想讓 EFI C槽左側的分區, 下載 NIUBI Partition Editor 然後按照視頻中的方法 展開系統保留分區 (足以 1或2GB):

Video guide

如何在 Server 2 中運行 mbr2012gpt.exe 將 MBR 更改為 GPT (cmd)

正如我上面所說,MBR2GPT.exe是內置的 Windows Server 2019 及 Windows 10,它不包括在早期 Windows 版本。 要在Server 2(R2012)中運行MBR2GPT,您需要 Windows 預安裝環境並從中運行命令提示符。

mbr轉gpt的步驟 Windows Server 2012 (R2) 使用 MBR2GPT cmd:

STEP 1: 下載 Windows Server 2019 的ISO 並使用以下命令創建可啟動DVD或USB閃存驅動器 Windows 內置或第三方工具。 如果使用VMware Hyper-V虛擬機,則只需選擇此ISO文件並從中啟動。

STEP 2: 從此可啟動媒體啟動,只需單擊 下一步 在第一 Windows 設置窗口,然後單擊 修復您的計算機 在下一個窗口的左下角。

Setup window

Repair computer

STEP 3: 點擊 疑難解答 在下一個窗口中,然後單擊 命令提示符.

Troubleshoot

Command Prompt

STEP 4: 只需輸入2條命令即可完成轉換。

  1. cd ..
  2. mbr2gpt /轉換

如您所見,命令窗口報告轉換成功完成。

因為我擴展了系統保留分區,所以重新啟動服務器並啟動到UEFI,如您所見,磁盤0轉換為GPT, EFI 分區創建於 離開 C槽的一側。

除了將MBR轉換為Server 2012的GPT之外, NIUBI Partition Editor 幫助您在之間轉換分區 主邏輯, 將NTFS轉換為FAT32 不會丟失數據。 它還可以幫助您縮小,擴展,移動,合併,複製,擦除分區等等。

下載

Convert MBR to GPT in Windows Server 2012 R2 Without Data Loss

by Allen, Updated on: October 8, 2021

Hard disk drives become much bigger and it's common to use a 2TB or 4TB disk. Many servers are built with hardware RAID arrays, the virtual disk may be larger than 10TB. If you build a RAID 5 array with 3 3TB hard disks, the virtual disk in Disk Management is 6GB. If this disk is initialized as MBR, you can only use 2TB space, the remaining 4TB disk space is shown as Unallocated at the end. This space cannot be used to create new volume or expand other partition. To use full disk space, you must convert disk from MBR to GPT. If there are 4 partitions on a disk and Windows doesn't allow creating more volume, you also need to change MBR disk to GPT. In this article I'll introduce how to convert MBR to GPT in Windows Server 2012 (R2) with MBR2GPT command tool and third party disk converter.

Convert MBR to GPT in Server 2012 Disk Management (destructive)

To convert MBR to GPT in Windows Server 2012 R2, there are several ways. Windows has built-in Disk Management and diskpart command tool to help convert disk type, but you must delete all partitions on the MBR disk in advance.

In diskpart command prompt window, type help convert GPT and you'll see the syntax, note and example of convert command.

Diskpart Convert

In Disk Management console, when you right click the front of a MBR disk, there is also an option, but the "Convert to GPT Disk" option is grayed out if there's a partition on it.

Convert is grayed

With MBR2GPT.exe (Microsoft provided) and NIUBI Partition Editor, you can convert MBR to GPT in Server 2012 without losing data. Before starting, make sure the MBR disk that you want to convert is data disk or system disk, because the method is different.

How to convert MBR to GPT for non-system disk (nondestructive)

If there's only data on the MBR disk, it is extremely easy and fast to convert it to GPT without losing data, only several clicks are needed.

Steps to convert MBR to GPT in Windows Server 2012 R2 without operating system:

  1. Download NIUBI Partition Editor, right click the front of the MBR disk and select "Convert to GPT Disk".
  2. Simply click Yes to confirm, then a pending operation is added.
  3. Click Apply on top left to execute, done. (All operations before clicking Apply only work in virtual mode.)

Watch the video how to convert disk from MBR to GPT in Windows Server 2012:

Video guide

How to convert MBR to GPT in Windows Server 2012 for system disk

If there's operating system on the MBR disk, it's a bit complicated, because all system files must keep intact and the OS must boot correctly after converting to GPT. There are some 3rd-party software that claim to be able to convert MBR disk to GPT with operating system in it, but few can ensure 100% system bootable. If you want to convert a system disk from MBR to GPT, it is suggested to run MBR2GPT.exe which is a command prompt tool and provided by Microsoft.

Server 2012 mbr2gpt.exe command prompt

MBR2GPT.exe is running from command prompt. On Windows Server 2019 and Windows 10 (1703 and later versions), you can convert MBR to GPT with this command in Windows. But to run mbr2gpt in Server 2012 (R2), you need bootable media with Windows Preinstallation Environment (Windows PE).

To convert disk with MBR2GPT in Windows 2012 server, your disk partition must meet the requirements below. Otherwise, the conversion can't be successful. But don't worry, before any change to the disk is made, MBR2GPT validates the layout and geometry of the selected disk, if any of these checks fails, the conversion will not proceed and an error message will be returned. Your disk partition won't be damaged.

Precondition to run MBR2GPT cmd in Server 2012 R2:

  1. There should be no Logical drive on this MBR disk.
  2. There should be 3 or less Primary partitions on this MBR disk.
  3. One of the partitions is set as active and is the system partition.
  4. All partitions on this MBR disk are recognized by Windows, that means there are no EXT2/EXT3 and other types of Linux or Mac partitions.

Common issue and corresponding solution

"Validating layout, disk sector size is: 512 bytes Disk layout validating failed for disk 0", "MBR2GPT: Conversion failed". This is the most common error message while converting MBR disk to GPT in Windows Server 2012 and other versions. If you received such error, check your disk partition configuration again.

Partition layout

In most of Windows 2012 server system disk, there are System Reserved, C: (for OS) and D drive. If all these partitions are Primary, you can convert disk to GPT successfully. If your disk partition layout doesn't meet the requirements, follow the methods to modify:

  1. If there's a Logical drive, convert it to Primary (without data loss).
  2. If there are 4 Primary partitions, follow the steps to move one to another disk.
  3. If there's not supported partition, you have to move files and delete this partition.

Expand System Reserved partition (optional)

For Windows to remain bootable after the conversion, an EFI system partition (ESP) must be in place. MBR2GPT will shrink the System Reserved partition first. If there is not enough free space in System Reserved partition, MBR2GPT will shrink C drive, then the EFI partition will be created behind C drive after converting to GPT disk.

EFI partition

When right clicking the EFI partition in Disk Management, all options are grayed out. That means Disk Management cannot shrink or extend this partition. However, it doesn't matter to NIUBI Partition Editor, because it can shrink, extend and move EFI partition without losing file in it.

If you want to make the EFI partition on the left of C drive, Download NIUBI Partition Editor and follow the method in the video to expand the System Reserved partition (it's enough to 1 or 2GB):

Video guide

How to run mbr2gpt.exe in Server 2012 to change MBR to GPT (cmd)

As I said above, MBR2GPT.exe is built in Windows Server 2019 and Windows 10, it is not included in early Windows versions. To run MBR2GPT in Server 2012 (R2), you need Windows Preinstallation Environment and run command prompt from it.

Steps to convert mbr to gpt in Windows Server 2012 (R2) with MBR2GPT cmd:

Step 1: Download Windows Server 2019 ISO and create bootable DVD or USB flash drive with Windows built-in or third-party tool. If you use VMware, Hyper-V virtual machine, you just need to select this ISO file and boot from it.

Step 2: Boot from this bootable media, simply click Next in first Windows Setup window, then click Repair your computer on th bottom left corner of next window.

Setup window

Repair computer

Step 3: Click Troubleshoot in next window, then click Command Prompt.

Troubleshoot

Command Prompt

Step 4: Just input 2 commands to complete converting.

  1. cd..
  2. mbr2gpt /convert

As you see, the command window reports conversion completed successfully.

Because I extended the System Reserved partition, restart server and boot to UEFI, as you see, disk 0 is converted to GPT and the EFI partition is created on left side of C drive.

Besides converting MBR to GPT for Server 2012, NIUBI Partition Editor helps you convert partition between Primary and Logical, convert NTFS to FAT32 without losing data. It also helps you shrink, extend, move, merge, copy, wipe partition and much more.

Download