如何將 MBR 轉換為 GPT Windows Server 2016

by Andy,更新於:2021年10月1日

GPT(GUID分區表) 磁盤比 MBR(主啟動記錄) 磁盤,例如:克服了最大2TB分區和4個主要磁碟分割的限制。 也就是說,您可以在單個 GPT 磁盤中創建大於 2TB 的分區和 4 個以上的主要磁碟分區。 服務器使用超過4TB的磁盤是很常見的,如果不將MBR磁盤轉換為GPT,剩餘的磁盤空間將顯示為未配置,並且不能用於創建新分區或擴展其他分區。 很多人問是否可以將MBR轉換為GPT Windows Server 2016 不會丟失數據。 答案是肯定的。 在本文中,我將介紹兩種將 MBR 磁盤更改為 GPT 的方法 Windows Server 2 中的 MBR2016GPT 命令和第三方 MBR 到 GPT 轉換器。

將MBR轉換為GPT Windows 2016 帶轉換器的服務器

  1. 下載 NIUBI Partition Editor,右鍵單擊 MBR磁盤,然後選擇“轉換成GPT磁盤".
  2. 只需點擊 確認,然後添加一個掛起的操作。
  3. 點擊 Apply 在左上方執行,完成。 (點擊之前的所有操作 Apply 僅適用於虛擬模式。)

觀看視頻,了解如何將MBR磁盤轉換為GPT Windows Server 2016:

Video guide

要將MBR轉換為GPT Windows Server 2016 無需操作系統,按照上述步驟即可輕鬆快速完成。 但是對於有操作系統的MBR盤,則要注意了。 如果在將 MBR 磁盤轉換為 GPT 時出現任何問題,可能會損壞系統並丟失數據。

操作系統為Server 2016的MBR盤轉GPT前,請確認您的服務器主板支持U盤EFI. 如果是,請進行完整的系統備份並運行安全的 MBR 到 GPT 轉換器。 很少有第三方軟件可以保證100%安全,轉換Server 2016系統盤的最佳選擇是運行 Windows MBR2GPT 命令,此安全工具由 Microsoft 提供。

在 Server 2 中使用 MBR2016GPT.exe 將 MBR 更改為 GPT

MBR2GPT.exe 正在從命令提示符運行。 上 Windows Server 2019 及 Windows 10 (1703及更高版本),您可以使用以下命令將MBR系統磁盤轉換為GPT Windows. 但是要在其中運行 mbr2gpt Windows Server 2016,您需要使用以下命令創建可啟動媒體 Windows 預安裝環境(Windows PE)。 備註: MBR2GPT 命令只能轉換系統盤。 要將純數據磁盤從 MBR 轉換為 GPT,請按照上述步驟操作。

將 MBR 轉換為 GPT 有 3 個主要步驟 Windows 帶有 MBR2016GPT 命令的 2 服務器:

步驟 1:檢查磁盤分區配置

在對磁盤進行任何更改之前,MBR2GPT會驗證所選磁盤的佈局和幾何形狀,如果這些檢查中的任何一項失敗,則轉換將不會進行。

  1. 磁盤當前正在使用MBR
  2. 分區沒有足夠的空間來存儲主要和次要GPT:磁盤前端為16KB + 2個扇區,磁盤末端為16KB + 1個扇區。
  3. 有在 最多3個 MBR分區表中的主分區
  4. 分區之一被設置為活動分區,並且是系統分區
  5. 磁盤做  有任何擴展/邏輯分區
  6. 系統分區上的BCD存儲區包含指向操作系統分區的默認OS條目
  7. 可以為分配了驅動器號的每個卷檢索卷ID
  8. 此MBR磁盤上的所有分區均為 確認 by Windows.

一般情況下,注意數字3、5、8即可,如果你的磁盤分區配置符合要求,則跳轉到步驟3進行轉換。 否則,請按照步驟 2 更改磁盤分區。

第 2 步:根據需要更改磁盤分區

如果您的磁盤分區配置不符合要求,則當MBR2GPT命令檢查幾何時,它將報告錯誤- “驗證佈局,磁盤扇區大小為:512字節磁盤0的磁盤佈局驗證失敗”,“ MBR2GPT:轉換失敗”.

Partition layout

在大多數 Windows 2016服務器系統磁盤,有System Reserved,C :(對於OS)和D槽。 如果所有這三個分區都是 ,您可以成功轉換此磁盤。

  1. 如果D是 邏輯磁碟機l,請按照以下步驟操作 轉換成小學 (沒有數據丟失)。
  2. 如果有第四個分區,例如E, 將其移動到其他磁盤 無論是主邏輯還是邏輯邏輯。
  3. 如果有的話 Windows 不支持的分區,請將文件移動到其他位置並刪除該分區。

擴展系統保留分區(可選)

為 Windows 在轉換後保持可引導狀態, EFI 系統分區(ESP)必須到位。 MBR2GPT將首先縮小“系統保留”分區。 如果其中沒有足夠的可用空間,則MBR2GPT將縮小C槽。 在這種情況下, EFI 分區將在 右邊 C槽。

在命令提示符下,它清楚顯示了將MBR磁盤轉換為GPT時MBR2GPT的操作步驟。 如您所見,MBR2GPT首先嘗試縮小系統保留的分區,但這無法完成,因此它縮小了OS C槽。

MBR2GPT

轉換MBR磁盤之前:

Before converting

轉換為GPT磁盤後:

After converting

如您所見,100MB EFI 將Disk 0轉換為GPT後,在C槽後面創建system分區。 右鍵單擊它時,所有選項都變灰。 也就是說,磁碟管理不能調整大小或移動 EFI 劃分。

NIUBI Partition Editor 可以收縮、伸展和移動 EFI 分區在 Windows Server 2016. 如果你想創建 EFI 左邊分區,讓C、D槽連續,你應該 擴展系統保留分區。 如果 EFI 右側的分區對您來說不是問題,只需忽略此步驟即可。

下載 NIUBI Partition Editor 並按照視頻中的方法擴展系統預留分區(足以 擴展 1 或 2GB):

Video guide

第 3 步:運行 MBR2GPT 命令將 MBR 轉換為 GPT Windows 2016服務器:

下載 Windows Server 2019 的ISO 並使用以下命令創建可啟動DVD光盤或USB閃存驅動器 Windows 內置或第三方工具。

從此可啟動媒體啟動,只需單擊 下一步 在第一 Windows 設置窗口,然後單擊 修復您的計算機 在下一個窗口的左下角。

Setup window

Repair computer

點擊 疑難解答 在下一個窗口中,然後單擊 命令提示符.

Troubleshoot

Command Prompt

只需輸入2條命令即可完成轉換。

  1. cd ..
  2. mbr2gpt /轉換

在幾分鐘內,此 MBR 磁盤將轉換為 GPT。 我已經在我的服務器上將系統保留分區擴展到 1GB,這次 MBR2GPT 成功縮小了系統保留分區。 重啟服務器並引導至 UEFI,將磁盤0轉換為GPT, EFI 系統分區在C槽的左側創建。

MBR2GPT command

Convert successfully

除了將 MBR 磁盤轉換為 GPT 之外 Windows Server 2016/2019 和之前的服務器 2012/2008/2003, NIUBI Partition Editor 幫助您在主要和邏輯之間轉換分區,將NTFS轉換為FAT32,而不會丟失數據。 它還可以幫助您縮小,擴展,移動和合併分區以優化空間使用,克隆整個磁盤或單個分區以遷移操作系統和數據,創建,刪除,格式化,轉換,碎片整理,隱藏分區等等。

下載

How to Convert MBR to GPT In Windows Server 2016

by Andy, Updated on: October 1, 2021

GPT (GUID Partition Table) disk has many advantages than MBR (Master Boot Record) disk, for example: overcome the maximum 2TB partition and 4 Primary partitions limit. That means, you can create larger than 2TB partition and more than 4 Primary partitions in single GPT disk. It is common to use over 4TB disk for a server, if you do not convert MBR disk to GPT, the rest disk space will be shown as Unallocated and it can't be used to create new or extend other partition. Many people ask if it's possible to convert MBR to GPT in Windows Server 2016 without losing data. The answer is yes. In this article, I'll introduce 2 ways to change MBR disk to GPT with Windows MBR2GPT command and third party MBR to GPT converter in Server 2016.

Convert MBR to GPT in Windows 2016 server with converter

  1. Download NIUBI Partition Editor, right click the front of the MBR disk and select "Convert to GPT Disk".
  2. Simply click Yes to confirm, then a pending operation is added.
  3. Click Apply on top left to execute, done. (All operations before clicking Apply only work in virtual mode.)

Watch the video how to convert MBR disk to GPT in Windows Server 2016:

Video guide

To convert MBR to GPT in Windows Server 2016 without operating system, it is very easy and fast to accomplish by following the steps above. But to the MBR disk that has operating system, you should pay attention. If anything goes wrong when converting MBR disk to GPT, system may be damaged and data may be lost.

Before converting MBR disk to GPT in Server 2016 with operating system, make sure your server mother board supports UEFI. If it does, make a full system backup and run safe MBR to GPT converter. Few third party software can ensure 100% safety, the best option to convert Server 2016 system disk is running Windows MBR2GPT command, this safe tool is provided by Microsoft.

Change MBR to GPT with MBR2GPT.exe in Server 2016

MBR2GPT.exe is running from command prompt. On Windows Server 2019 and Windows 10 (1703 and later versions), you can convert MBR system disk to GPT with this command in Windows. But to run mbr2gpt in Windows Server 2016, you need to create bootable media with Windows Preinstallation Environment (Windows PE). Note: MBR2GPT command can only convert system disk. To convert data only disk from MBR to GPT, follow the steps above.

There are 3 major steps to convert MBR to GPT in Windows 2016 server with MBR2GPT command:

Step 1: Check disk partition configuration

Before any change to the disk is made, MBR2GPT validates the layout and geometry of the selected disk, if any of these checks fails, the conversion will not proceed.

  1. The disk is currently using MBR
  2. There is enough space not occupied by partitions to store the primary and secondary GPTs: 16KB + 2 sectors at the front of the disk and 16KB + 1 sector at the end of the disk.
  3. There are at most 3 primary partitions in MBR partition table
  4. One of the partitions is set as active and is the system partition
  5. The disk does not have any extended/logical partition
  6. The BCD store on the system partition contains a default OS entry pointing to an OS partition
  7. The volume IDs can be retrieved for each volume which has a drive letter assigned
  8. All partitions on this MBR disk are recognized by Windows.

In general, you just need to pay attention to number 3, 5 and 8. If your disk partition configuration meet the requirements, jump to Step 3 to convert. Otherwise, follow Step 2 to change your disk partition.

Step 2: Change disk partition if needed

If your disk partition configuration doesn't meet the requirements, when MBR2GPT command check the geometry, it will reports error - "Validating layout, disk sector size is: 512 bytes Disk layout validating failed for disk 0", "MBR2GPT: Conversion failed".

Partition layout

In most of Windows 2016 server system disk, there are System Reserved, C: (for OS) and D drive. If all these 3 partitions are Primary, you can convert this disk successfully.

  1. If D is Logical drivel, follow the step to convert it to Primary (without data loss).
  2. If there is fourth partition such as E, move it to other disk no matter it is Primary or Logical.
  3. If there are any Windows non-support partition, move files to other place and delete this partition.

Extend System Reserved partition (optional)

For Windows to remain bootable after the conversion, an EFI system partition (ESP) must be in place. MBR2GPT will shrink the System Reserved partition first. If there is not enough free space in it, MBR2GPT will shrink C drive. In that case, the EFI partition will be created on the right side of C drive.

In the command prompt, it shows clearly the steps what MBR2GPT do when converting MBR disk to GPT. As you see, MBR2GPT first try to shrink the system reserved partition, it can't be done, so it shrink the OS partition C instead.

MBR2GPT

Before converting MBR disk:

Before converting

After converting to GPT disk:

After converting

As you see, 100MB EFI system partition is created behind C drive after converting Disk 0 to GPT. When right clicking it, all options are grayed out. That means, Disk Management cannot resize or move EFI partition.

NIUBI Partition Editor can shrink, extend and move EFI partition in Windows Server 2016. If you want to create EFI partition on the left and make C, D drive to be contiguous, you should extend system reserved partition. If EFI partition on the right is not a problem to you, simply ignore this step.

Download NIUBI Partition Editor and follow the method in the video to extend the System Reserved partition (it's enough to extend 1 or 2GB):

Video guide

Step 3: Run MBR2GPT command to convert MBR to GPT in Windows 2016 Server:

Download Windows Server 2019 ISO and create bootable DVD disc or USB flash drive with Windows built-in or third-party tool.

Boot from this bootable media, simply click Next in first Windows Setup window, then click Repair your computer on bottom left corner of next window.

Setup window

Repair computer

Click Troubleshoot in next window, then click Command Prompt.

Troubleshoot

Command Prompt

Just input 2 commands to complete converting.

  1. cd..
  2. mbr2gpt /convert

Within several minutes, this MBR disk is converted to GPT. I've extended system reserved partition to 1GB on my server, this time MBR2GPT shrink the system reserved partition successfully. Restart server and boot to UEFI, disk 0 is converted to GPT and the EFI system partition is created on left side of C drive.

MBR2GPT command

Convert successfully

Besides converting MBR disk to GPT in Windows Server 2016/2019 and previous Server 2012/2008/2003, NIUBI Partition Editor helps you convert partition between Primary and Logical, convert NTFS to FAT32 without losing data. It also helps you shrink, extend, move and merge partitions to optimize space usage, clone entire disk or single partition to migrate Operating system and data, create, delete, format, convert, defrag, hide partition and much more.

DOWNLOAD