延伸磁碟區在磁碟管理中不起作用

作者:安迪(Andy),更新日期:2020年1月15日

Windows 7 and the subsequent versions have built-in 延伸磁碟區 feature in 磁碟管理, which is able to expand both system volume and data drives without losing data (in most cases). However, many people feedback that "Windows 10不會讓我擴展硬碟區分區“。”當我右鍵單擊分區時, 延伸磁碟區為灰色". This issue is very common on both Windows PC和服務器。

本文解釋了為什麼延伸磁碟區在 Windows 10/8/7 亦於 Windows Server 2019/ 2016/2012/2008 R2,以及如何輕鬆解決此問題。 延伸磁碟區在磁碟管理中不起作用的原因有很多,我將一一介紹。

原因1: 沒有相鄰的未配置空間

延伸磁碟區僅在有  未配置空間,此外,此未配置空間必須位於 權利 要擴展的驅動器一側。

眾所周知,有兩種方法可以在磁碟管理中獲得未配置的空間:刪除和縮小卷。 如果你想 擴展C槽 通過收縮相鄰驅動器(D),這是不可能的。 因為壓縮磁碟區功能只能在硬盤上產生未配置的空間 權利 側 D 縮小時,但要使用具有擴展磁碟區功能的C槽擴展,未配置空間必須位於 C。 這就是人們反饋擴展磁碟區不適用於C槽分區的原因。

為了向您顯示此限制,我縮小了驅動器D Windows 10台筆記本電腦。 如您所見,在縮小D之後,延伸磁碟區對C和E驅動器均無效。(20GB未配置空間為 不相鄰的 駕駛C並在 離開 E的一面)。

擴展不起作用

原因2: 不支持FAT32分區

實際上,延伸磁碟區只能擴展使用NTFS文件系統或沒有文件系統(RAW)格式化的分區,因此即使右側有相鄰的未配置空間,也無法擴展FAT32分區。

從屏幕截圖中可以看到,擴展磁碟區不適用於D槽,因為它是FAT32分區。

Extend is disabled

原因3: 自由空間不能擴展到主要磁碟分割

此問題僅存在於 MBR 樣式磁盤。

在GPT樣式的磁盤中,所有分區均創建為主磁盤,但在MBR磁盤中,可能同時存在主磁盤和邏輯磁碟機。 與作為獨立單位工作的主要磁碟分割不同,邏輯分區是 擴展 劃分。 延伸磁碟分割就像一個容器一樣工作,邏輯磁碟機的磁盤空間將轉換為 免費 刪除後。 從屏幕快照中可以看到,驅動器D是NTFS,右側有相鄰的未配置空間,但延伸磁碟區仍然不起作用。 這是因為驅動器D是邏輯的。

邏輯磁碟機

解決方案: 延伸磁碟區不工作時該怎麼辦

似乎有點複雜,但是用以下方法解決這些問題非常容易 NIUBI Partition Editor,您所需要做的就是拖放磁盤映射。

資料下載 NIUBI Partition Editor 然後您將看到所有具有分區結構的磁盤,找出延伸磁碟區不起作用的原因,然後按照下面的相應方法進行操作。

如果延伸磁碟區不起作用是因為未配置的空間不相鄰,請按照視頻中的步驟操作 移動未配置空間 連續的:

Video guide

如果由於該分區為FAT32或MBR磁盤的限製而導致擴展磁碟區不起作用,請按照視頻中的步驟縮小和擴展分區:

Video guide

除了縮小,移動和擴展分區驅動器之外, NIUBI Partition Editor 幫助您執行許多其他磁盤和分區管理操作。 與其他工具相比,它具有獨特的1秒回滾,虛擬模式和井中取消技術,可以保護系統和數據。

Extend Volume doesn't work in Disk Management

By Andy, Updated on: January 15, 2020

Windows 7 and the subsequent versions have built-in Extend Volume feature in Disk Management, which is able to expand both system volume and data drives without losing data (in most cases). However, many people feedback that "Windows 10 won't let me extend volume partition". "When I right click the partition, Extend Volume is greyed out". This issue is very common on both Windows PC and server.

This article explains why Extend Volume doesn't work in Windows 10/8/7 and Windows Server 2019/2016/2012/2008 R2, and how to fix this issue with ease. There are several reasons why Extend Volume doesn't work in Disk Management, I'll introduce one by one.

Reason 1: No adjacent Unallocated space

Extend Volume only works when there is adjacent Unallocated space, in addition, this Unallocated space must be on the right side of the drive that you want to extend.

As we know, there are two ways to get Unallocated space in Disk Management: delete and shrink a volume. If you want to extend C drive by shrinking the adjacent drive (D), it is impossible. Because Shrink Volume feature can only produce Unallocated space on the right side of D when shrinking, but to expand C drive with Extend Volume feature, Unallocated space must be on the right side of C. This is the reason why people feedback that Extend Volume doesn't work for C drive partition.

To show you this limitation, I shrank drive D on my Windows 10 laptop. As you see, Extend Volume doesn't work for both drive C and E after shrinking D. (20GB Unallocated space is nonadjacent to drive C and is on the left side of E.)

Extend doesn't work

Reason 2: FAT32 partition is not supported

In fact, Extend Volume can only extend the partition that is formatted with NTFS file system or without file system (RAW), so you cannot extend a FAT32 partition even if there is adjacent Unallocated space on the right side.

As you see in the screenshot, Extend Volume doesn't work for D drive because it is a FAT32 partition.

Extend is disabled

Reason 3: Free space can't be extended to Primary partition

This issue only exists in MBR style disk.

In GPT style disk, all partitions are created as Primary, but in MBR disk, there could be both Primary and Logical partition. Unlike Primary partitions that work as independent unit, Logical Partition is part of the Extended partition. Extended partition works like a container and the disk space of Logical partition will be converted to Free after deleting. As you see in the screenshot, drive D is NTFS and there's adjacent Unallocated space on the right, but Extend Volume still doesn't work. This is because drive D is Logical.

Logical drive

Solution: What to do when Extend Volume doesn't work

It seems to be a bit complicated, but it is very easy to solve these problem with NIUBI Partition Editor, all you need to do is dragging and dropping on the disk map.

Download NIUBI Partition Editor and you'll see all disks with partition structure, find out the reason why Extend Volume doesn't work and then follow the corresponding method below.

If Extend Volume doesn't work is because that Unallocated space is nonadjacent, follow the steps in the video to move Unallocated space to be contiguous:

Video guide

If Extend Volume doesn't work is because that this partition is FAT32 or because of the restriction of MBR disk, follow the steps in the video to shrink and extend partition:

Video guide

Besides shrinking, moving and extending partition drives, NIUBI Partition Editor helps you do many other disk and partition management operations. Better that other tools, it has unique 1-Second Rollback, Virtual Mode and Cancel-at-well technologies to protect system and data.