磁碟管理中延伸磁碟區為什麼會變灰及如何修復

作者:安迪,更新於:2021年11月13日

在舊 Windows 在XP和Server 2003中,您只能在磁碟管理中執行一些基本操作,例如創建,刪除和格式化分區。 要更改分配的分區的大小,您需要運行 DiskPart 命令 工具。 對於大多數個人計算機用戶來說,這有點困難。 因此,從 Windows 7,微軟新增 壓縮磁碟區 及 延伸磁碟區 具有圖形界面的功能。 Windows Server 2008 並且所有後續版本都繼承了相同的功能,沒有進行任何改進。

顧名思義,“延伸磁碟區”功能就是用來擴展已分配的分區而不丟失數據。 但是,由於許多天生的限制,分區在大多數情況下無法擴展。 很多人反饋說 延伸磁碟區在磁碟管理中呈灰色. 通過 Google 搜索,您會看到許多類似的抱怨,例如“Windows 10 不會讓我擴展硬碟區“”擴展硬碟區因我的C插槽而被禁用“”擴展硬碟區選項顯示為灰色,不起作用 在我的電腦中”。在這篇文章中,我將介紹引磁碟區選項呈灰色的所有可能原因以及如何輕鬆解決此問題。

適用於: Windows 11, Windows 10, Windows 8, Windows 7, Windows Server 2022, Windows Server 2019, Windows Server 2016, Windows Server 2012 (R2),Small Business Server 2011, Windows Server 2008 (R2)。

為什麼擴展硬碟區選項在 Windows PC和服務器

延伸磁碟區變灰的原因有5個常見原因 Windows 磁碟管理,我將一一解釋。

原因1: 沒有未配置空間

未配置 是不屬於任何卷的磁盤空間的一部分,可用於創建新卷或擴展其他分區。 眾所周知,256GB物理硬盤驅動器不能減少到200GB或增加到300GB。 因此, 在擴展分區之前,同一磁盤上必須有未配置空間. 否則,在磁碟管理中右鍵單擊任何驅動器時,延伸磁碟區選項將灰顯。

有兩種獲取未配置空間的方法: 刪除縮小 一卷。

  1. 刪除卷後,所有磁盤空間將轉換為未配置,並刪除其中的所有文件。
  2. 縮小卷後,部分可用空間將轉換為未配置,但所有文件保持不變。

原因2: 未配置空間不相鄰或在左側

這是 最常見的 兩者的磁碟管理中延伸磁碟區變灰的原因 Windows Server 和PC。

时间 壓縮磁碟區, 磁碟管理只給您一個輸入空間量的選項。 您不能選擇在該分區的左側或右側製作未配置空間。 如果您只想縮小分區以創建更多分區,這不是問題。 但如果你想 擴展分區 縮小另一個後,在磁碟管理中是不可能的,因為延伸磁碟區只有在有 鄰近的 未配置空間 權利.

延伸磁碟區 greyed out

正如你在我的測試電腦截圖中看到的,有20GB的未配置空間,是我的D槽縮小後的。

  • 延伸磁碟區被禁用到C槽,因為未配置空間是 不相鄰 到它。
  • 延伸磁碟區對E盤呈灰色,因為未配置空間是 在左邊 它的一面。

如果磁碟管理可以在縮小體積時移動隔板或在左側製作未配置空間,則不存在此問題。

原因3: 不支持文件系統

收縮和延伸磁碟區均起作用 僅支持使用格式化的分區 NTFS 文件系統。 因此,如果右鍵單擊FAT32或任何其他類型的分區,則“延伸磁碟區”選項將顯示為灰色。

在我的測試計算機中,右側有59.46GB未配置空間,但是驅動器D是 FAT32,所以 延伸磁碟區不起作用.

Can't extend partition

原因4: 初級和邏輯磁碟機之間的限制

在 GPT 磁盤上,所有分區都創建為 ,但在 MBR 磁盤上,可能同時存在 Primary 和 合乎邏輯 劃分。 與作為獨立單元工作的主要磁碟分割不同,邏輯分區是延伸磁碟分割的一部分。延伸磁碟分割就像一個容器一樣工作,邏輯磁碟機的磁盤空間將轉換為 免費 而不是刪除後未配置。

在磁碟管理中 從邏輯磁碟機刪除的可用空間不能擴展到任何主要磁碟機,從主要磁碟機刪除的未配置空間不能擴展到任何邏輯磁碟機。

延伸磁碟區 disabled

邏輯磁碟機

原因5: MBR磁盤2TB限制

如今,硬盤要大得多,通常將2TB +的磁盤用於個人計算機。 對於服務器,通常通過多個大磁盤使用超過10TB的RAID陣列。 但是,如果將磁盤初始化為MBR,則只能使用2TB空間,則無法在磁碟管理中新建剩餘空間或將其添加到其他卷中。 右鍵單擊磁碟管理中的未配置空間時,所有選項均顯示為灰色。

由於截圖顯示H盤是FSFS格式,並且有NT接口的未空間配置,但是延伸磁碟區還是灰色的。

延伸磁碟區 grayed

擴展硬碟區在磁碟管理中變灰時該怎麼辦

當延伸磁碟區變成灰色時 Windows 11/10/8/7 磁碟管理, NIUBI Partition Editor 有免費版來幫助你。 如果延伸磁碟區選項在 Windows Server 2022/2019/2016/2012/2008,按照下面同樣的方法,但需要Server或更高版本。

4種方法修復延伸磁碟區變灰問題 Windows Server/個人電腦:

方法1: 使用NIUBI縮小和擴展分區

如果沒有未配置空間, 下載 NIUBI Partition Editor 然後按照視頻中的步驟縮小D或其他音量,然後 在C槽中添加未配置空間.

Video guide

方法2: 將未配置空間向左移動

如果您縮小了D或其他卷以獲取未配置的空間,請按照視頻中的步驟操作 將未配置空間向左移動 然後添加到C槽。

Video guide

方法3: 合併連續的未配置空間

如果要擴展的分區兩側有連續的未配置空間,只需 合併未配置空間 用NIUBI這個分區,不管你想擴展NTFS/FAT32,Primary/邏輯磁碟機。 按照視頻中的方法:

Video guide

方法4: 將MBR磁盤轉換為GPT

如果因為MBR盤2TB限製而導致延伸磁碟區變灰,請按照視頻中的步驟操作 將MBR磁盤轉換為GPT 進而 用未配置空間擴展隔斷.

Video guide

除了能夠幫助修復擴展硬碟區的灰色問題 Windows 11/10/8/7 and Server 2022/2019/2016/2012/2008, NIUBI Partition Editor 幫助您執行許多其他操作,例如合併,複製,碎片整理,隱藏,擦除,轉換,創建,格式化,掃描壞扇區等。

下載

Why Extend Volume greyed out and how to fix

By Andy, Updated on: October 15, 2020

This article explains the reasons why Extend Volume is grayed out in Windows Disk Management and how to fix extend volume greyed out issue on Windows PC and Server.

Applies to: Windows 10, Windows 8, Windows 7, Windows Vista, Windows Server 2019, Windows Server 2016, Windows Server 2012 (R2), Small Business Server 2011, Windows Server 2008 (R2).

About Windows Extend Volume function

In old Windows XP and Server 2003, you can only do some basic operations in Disk Management such as create, delete and format partition. To change size of allocated partition, you need to run DiskPart command prompt. It is a bit difficult to most of personal computer users, thus, from Windows 7, Microsoft added new Shrink Volume and Extend Volume functions with graphical interface. Windows Server 2008 and all subsequent versions inherited the same functions without any improvement.

As the name, Extend Volume is used to expand allocated partition without data loss, however, because of many limitations of this function, most of partitions can't be extended. Many people feedback that Extend Volume greyed out in Disk Management. Searching by Google and you'll see many similar complaints such as "Windows 10 won't let me extend volume", "extend volume is disabled for my C drive", "extend volume option is grayed out and doesn't work in my computer".

In this article, I'll introduce all probable reasons why Extend Volume option is grayed out and the corresponding solutions.

Why extend volume is grayed out in Windows PC & Server

There are 5 common reasons that why Extend Volume greyed out in Windows Disk Management and I'll explain one by one.

Reason 1: No Unallocated space

Unallocated is part of disk space that is not belong to any volume, it can be used to create new volume or extend other partition. As we know, a 256GB physical hard disk drive can't be decreased to 200GB or increased to 300GB. Therefore, before extending a partition, there must be Unallocated space on the same disk, otherwise, Extend Volume will be grayed out when you right click any drive in Disk Management.

There are 2 ways to get Unallocated space: delete and shrink a volume.

  1. After deleting a volume, all disk space will be converted to Unallocated, all files in it will be deleted, too.
  2. After shrinking a volume, part of free space will be converted to Unallocated, all files keep intact.

Reason 2: Unallocated space is nonadjacent or on the left side

This is the most common reason why Extend Volume greyed out on both Windows Server and PC.

When shrinking a volume, the only option in Disk Management is entering an amount of space. You cannot choose to make Unallocated space on the left or right side of this partition. It is not an issue if you just want to decrease a partition to create new, but if you want to extend a partition by shrinking another one, it is impossible in Disk Management, because Extend Volume only works when there's contiguous Unallocated space on the right.

Extend Volume greyed out

As you see in the screenshot of my test computer, there is 20GB Unallocated space generated after shrinking my D drive.

The only way to enable Extend Volume for drive C is by deleting the adjacent drive D. But to drive E, there is no way in Disk Management.

Do not delete drive D if you installed programs in it, and remember to transfer files first if you can delete it.

Reason 3: Unsupported file system

Both Shrink and Extend Volume functions only support the partitions that are formatted with NTFS file system. Thus, if you right click FAT32 or any other types of partitions, Extend Volume option is grayed out.

In my test computer, there is 59.46GB Unallocated space that is adjacent and on the right side, but drive D is FAT32, so Extend Volume doesn't work.

Can't extend partition

Reason 4: Restriction between Primary and Logical partition

In GPT style disk, all partitions are created as Primary, but in MBR disk, there could be both Primary and Logical partition. Unlike Primary partitions that work as independent unit, Logical Partition is part of the Extended partition. Extended partition works like a container and the disk space of Logical drive will be converted to Free instead of Unallocated after deleting.

In Disk Management, free space deleted from Logical drive can't be extended to any Primary partition, Unallocated space deleted from Primary partition can't be extended to any Logical drive.

Extend Volume disabled

Logical drive

Reason 5: 2TB limitation in MBR disk

Nowadays, hard disks are much larger and it is common to use 2TB+ disk for personal computers. To a server, it is common to use over 10TB RAID array via several large disks. But if you initialized the disk as MBR, you can use only 2TB space, the remaining space can't be created new or added to other volume in Disk Management. When you right click the Unallocated space in Disk Management, all options are grayed out.

As the screen shot shows, drive H is formatted with NTFS and there is right contiguous Unallocated space, but Extend Volume still greyed out.

Extend Volume grayed

What to do when extend volume greyed out in Disk Management

Solution 1: Shrink and extend partition with NIUBI

If there's no Unallocated space, Download NIUBI Partition Editor and follow the steps in the video to shrink D or other volume, and then add Unallocated space to C drive.

Video guide

Solution 2: Move Unallocated space to the left

If you've shrunk D or other volume to get Unallocated space, follow the steps in the video to move Unallocated space to the left and then add to C drive.

Video guide

Solution 3: Merge contiguous Unallocated space

If there's contiguous Unallocated space on either side of the partition that you want to extend, simply merge Unallocated space to this partition with NIUBI, no matter you want to extend NTFS/FAT32, Primary/Logical partition. Follow the method in the video:

Video guide

Solution 4: Convert MBR disk to GPT

If Extend Volume greyed out because of 2TB limitation in MBR disk, follow the steps in the video to convert MBR disk to GPT and then extend partition with Unallocated space.

Video guide

Besides help fix extend volume greyed out issue in Windows 10/8/7 and Server 2019/2016/2012/2008, NIUBI Partition Editor helps you do many other operations such as merge, copy, defrag, hide, wipe, convert, create, format, scan bad sectors, etc.

Download