無法縮小C槽 Windows 10/8/7

作者:約翰,更新日期:2020年11月19日

本文解釋了為什麼無法在其中縮小C槽 Windows 10/8/7 磁碟管理以及如何解決此問題。

有時候你需要 收縮C槽,例如:安裝時忘記編輯和創建分區 Windows,因此C槽佔據了所有磁盤空間。 在這種情況下,您可以通過縮小C槽釋放可用空間來創建更多卷。 如果驅動器D空間不足,也可以收縮C來擴展它。 如果要從 Windows 7 / 8至 Windows 10,你還需要減少C槽到 擴展系統保留分區.

縮小C槽 Windows 10/8/7 有 壓縮磁碟區 在本地 磁碟管理實用程序但是很多人反饋說 不能縮小C槽。 在本文中,我將解釋原因 為什麼無法縮小C槽 in Windows 10/8/7 磁碟管理以及如何輕鬆解決此問題。

為什麼不能縮小C槽 Windows 10/8/7

無法縮小C槽的3個常見原因 Windows 10/8/7 磁碟管理。

原因1。 可用空間不一致

什麼時候 縮小分區 借助壓縮磁碟區,磁碟管理將計算已使用和可用的可用空間以縮小。 如果您不是自己輸入金額,則默認使用最大可用空間。 在我的計算機上,可用空間為150264MB。

Enter amount

眾所周知,許多類型的文件正在連續寫入C槽,因此單擊“收縮”時可用空間可能少於150264MB。 這意味著,您無法使用原始計算出的最大空間來縮小C槽。 我這樣做了,並且收到了錯誤消息“磁盤上沒有足夠的可用空間來完成此操作."

Error message

原因2。 無法移動的文件

解決由原因1引起的問題很容易,但是如果遇到第二個問題,則需要專業的磁盤分區軟件。

在另一台測試計算機中,我將C槽縮小到較小的大小而沒有問題,但是再次執行此操作時,磁碟管理顯示0,然後 收縮按鈕顯示為灰色。 如您所見,C槽中仍然有7.53GB的可用空間,但是磁碟管理不允許縮小它。

Can't shrink C

您是否注意到中間的提示: 您不能將捲縮小到超出任何無法移動文件的位置。 這是什麼意思?

例如,C槽由4個塊組成。 如果不可移動文件位於塊3中,則您 無法收縮C槽 到第2或第1塊,儘管那裡有可用空間。 不可移動文件包括分頁文件,休眠和其他大文件。

Shrink C槽

原因3。 文件系統錯誤

分區中的所有文件都由文件系統管理和組織。 在 Windows 計算機,NTFS和FAT32是最常見的文件系統,但是由於某些原因,兩者都可能損壞。 在某些計算機中,用戶在日常使用中沒有任何區別,但是如果縮小並擴展此分區,則可能會出現大問題。 縮小C插槽(和其他分區)時,磁碟管理還會檢測文件系統中是否存在任何錯誤。 如果是,“收縮”按鈕也將變灰。

無法縮小C槽分區怎麼辦

解決方案1: 輸入較小的金額

如果在縮小C槽時收到“可用空間不足”的錯誤,請運行壓縮磁碟區,不要使用默認的最大空間,請輸入 自己量。

解決方案2: 運行第三方軟件

如果無法縮小C槽 Windows 10/8/7 由於文件不可移動,請運行第三方軟件,例如 NIUBI Partition Editor。 它能夠移動這些不可移動的文件,因此可以根據需要將分區縮小到最小大小。 它有免費版本 Windows 10/8/7/Vista/XP 家用電腦用戶。 比磁碟管理好,NIUBI可以在以下情況時在左側或右側騰出未配置的空間 縮小的分區.

下載資源 NIUBI Partition Editor,您將在右側看到所有磁盤分區信息,在左側看到可用的操作。

Main window

右鍵單擊C槽,然後選擇“Resize/Move Volume”,在彈出窗口中有兩個選項:

如果拖動 左側邊界 朝右

Resize C槽

然後,您可以縮小C槽並在 左側.

Shrink C

如果拖動 右側邊界 朝上

Resize C槽

然後,您可以縮小C槽並在 右邊.

Shrink C

如果要將C縮小到 擴展系統保留分區, 或者 收縮C擴展D槽.

解決方案3: 修復文件系統錯誤

如果無法縮小C槽分區 Windows 10/8/7 由於文件系統錯誤,請按照以下步驟修復錯誤。

  1. 點擊 Windows 圖標或“開始”菜單,鍵入 CMD,然後您將看到一個結果,右鍵單擊cmd並選擇 以管理員身份運行.
  2. 在命令窗口中,鍵入 chkdsk C:/ v / f 然後按Enter。
  3. 它將報告無法鎖定此分區,並詢問您是否計劃此任務,請鍵入 Y 然後按Enter。
  4. 重新啟動計算機,然後使用磁碟管理或 NIUBI Partition Editor.

除了縮小和擴展分區, NIUBI Partition Editor 幫助移動,合併,複製,轉換,碎片整理,隱藏,擦除,掃描磁盤分區等。

下載資源

Unable to shrink C drive in Windows 10/8/7

by John, Updated on: April 26, 2021

Sometimes you need to shrink C drive partition, for example: you forget to edit and create partition when installing Windows, so C drive occupied all disk space. In that case, you can create more volumes by shrinking C drive to release free space. If drive D is running out of space, you can shrink C to extend it. If you want to upgrade from Windows 7/8 to Windows 10, you also need to decrease C drive to extend system reserved partition.

To shrink C drive, there's Shrink Volume function built in native Disk Management utility, but many people feedback that they can't shrink C drive in Windows 10/8/7. In this article, I'll explain the reasons why Disk Management is unable to shrink C drive in Windows 10/8/7 laptop/desktop/pad and how to solve this problem easily.

Why cannot shrink C drive in Windows 10/8/7

There are 3 common reasons why can't shrink C: drive in Windows 10/8/7 using Disk Management tool.

Reason 1. Inconsistent available space

When shrinking a partition with Shrink Volume function, Disk Management will calculate the used and available free space to shrink firstly. If you don't enter an amount by yourself, the maximum available space is used by default. In my computer, the available amount of space is 150264MB.

Enter amount

As we know, many types of files are writing into C drive continuously, so the available space maybe less than 150264MB when clicking Shrink button. That means, you can't shrink C drive with original calculated maximum space. I did this and I received the error message "There is not enough space available on the disk(s) to complete this operation."

Error message

Reason 2. Unmovable files

It is easy to fix the issue caused by reason 1, but if you encounter the second issue, you need professional disk partition software.

In my another test computer, I shrunk C drive to smaller size without issue, but when I do it again, Disk Management shows 0 available and Shrink button is greyed out. As you see, there is still 7.53GB free space in C: drive, but Disk Management doesn't allow shrinking it.

Can't shrink C

Have you noticed the tip in the middle "You cannot shrink a volume beyond the point where any unmovable files are located". What does it mean?

For example, C drive is made up of 4 blocks. If the unmovable files are located in block 3, you cannot shrink C drive to block 2 or 1, although there is free space there. The unmovable files include Paging file, Hibernation and other large files.

Shrink C drive

Reason 3. File system error

All files in a partition are managed and organized by a file system. In Windows computer, NTFS and FAT32 are most common file system, but both could be corrupted due to some reasons. In some computers, users don't find any difference in daily usage, but there could be big issue if they shrink and extend this partition. When you shrinking C drive (and other partitions), Disk Management also detects if there's anything wrong in file system. If yes, Shrink button will be also greyed out.

What to do if unable to shrink C drive partition

If you can't shrink C drive in your Windows 10/8/7 computer, follow the corresponding solution according to your own disk partition configuration.

Solution 1: Enter a smaller amount

If you received the error of "not enough space available" when shrinking C drive, run Shrink Volume again, do not use the default maximum space, enter a smaller amount by yourself.

Solution 2: Run third party software

If you can't shrink C drive in Windows 10/8/7 because of unmovable files, run third party software such as NIUBI Partition Editor. It is able to move these unmovable files, so it can shrink partition to minimum size if you want. It has free edition for Windows 10/8/7/Vista/XP home computer users. Better than Disk Management, NIUBI can make Unallocated space on either left or right when shrinking a partition.

In most of Windows computers, C drive is formatted with NTFS file system. If it is FAT32 due to some reasons, you must run third party software, because Windows Disk Management only supports NTFS partition.

Download NIUBI Partition Editor, you'll see all disk partition info and layout on the right, available operations are listed on the left and via right click.

Main window

Right click C drive and select "Resize/Move Volume", you have two options in the pop-up window:

If you drag left border towards right

Resize partition C

Then you can shrink C drive and make Unallocated space on the left side.

Shrink C

If you drag right border towards left

Resize partition C

Then you can shrink C drive and make Unallocated space on the right side.

Shrink C

Follow the steps if you want to shrink C to expand system reserved partition, or shrink C to expand D drive.

Solution 3: Fix file system error

If you cannot shrink C drive partition in Windows 10/8/7 because of file system error, follow the steps below to repair file system.

  1. Click Windows icon or Start menu, type cmd, then you'll see a result, right click the cmd and select Run as Administrator.
  2. In the command window, type chkdsk C:/v/f and press Enter.
  3. It will report that this partition can't be locked and ask you if schedule this task, type Y and press Enter.
  4. Restart your computer and shrink C drive again with Disk Management or NIUBI Partition Editor.

Besides shrinking and extending partitions, NIUBI Partition Editor helps you move, merge, copy, convert, defrag, hide, wipe partition, scan bad sectors and much more.

Download