為什麼擴展為灰色的C槽以及如何解決

詹姆斯(James)更新日期:2020年9月18日

本文解釋了為什麼在磁碟管理中擴展C槽的選項顯示為灰色,以及在擴展硬碟區為C槽顯示為灰色時怎麼辦。

適用於: Windows 10, Windows 8, Windows 7, Windows Server 2019, Windows Server 2016, Windows Server 2012 (R2),Small Business Server 2011, Windows Server 2008 (R2)。

比舊的好 Windows XP和Server 2003, Windows 7 及其後續版本具有內置在磁碟管理中的新收縮和延伸磁碟區功能,以幫助 調整分區 不會丟失數據。 與數據分割區相比,系統C槽很有可能 空間用完了。 如果可以的話那就更好了 增加C槽空間 不會浪費很長時間重新開始。 但是如果你想 擴展C槽 使用磁碟管理,您會感到不滿意,因為延伸磁碟區的功能始終為灰色。 本文介紹了為什麼選擇 擴展C槽為灰色 以及如何解決此問題。

為什麼在磁碟管理中擴展C槽的選項顯示為灰色

原因1: C槽後面沒有未配置空間

首先,您應該知道物理硬盤的大小是固定的,在擴展分區之前,必須有一個 未配置空間。未配置是一種不屬於任何已分配分區的磁盤空間。 除了創建新分區之外,還可以將其添加到其他分區。 要獲取未配置空間,您可以刪除或縮小分區。

許多人縮小了D槽或任何不相鄰的分區,但是擴展磁碟區對於C槽總是變灰。 如屏幕截圖所示,縮小D槽後,我得到了20GB未配置空間, 但是擴展C槽的選項顯示為灰色.

延伸磁碟區 greyed out

這是因為延伸磁碟區功能只能將未配置空間擴展到 左側相鄰的 分區,但壓縮磁碟區只能在 權利.

從D槽縮小的未配置空間是 不相鄰 到C槽,所以磁碟管理 無法擴展C槽 與此未配置空間。

原因2: 相鄰的D槽是邏輯的

如果您不想使用任何第三方軟件,則在磁碟管理中擴展C槽的唯一方法是通過 刪除 刪除該分區後,您將獲得C槽旁邊的未配置空間,然後將啟用擴展磁碟區。 如果沒有這樣的分區,或者您無法刪除它,則磁碟管理是無用的。

但是,僅當連續的D槽是 主è¦ç£ç¢Ÿåˆ†å‰²,則可以通過刪除D來擴展C槽,否則,對於C槽,擴展磁碟區仍然呈灰色。 從屏幕快照中可以看到,即使刪除了D和E驅動器,Extend C槽也會變灰。

延伸磁碟區 greyed out

延伸磁碟區 grayed out

在磁碟管理中 免費 已從刪除空間 合乎邏輯 驅動器不能擴展到任何 分區,從主要磁碟分割中刪除的未配置空間不能擴展到任何邏輯磁碟機。 此問題僅存在於 MBR 磁盤上,GPT磁盤上的所有分區都是主分區。

為什麼系統C槽不顯示延伸磁碟區選項

延伸磁碟區功能從 Windows Vista,所以在 Windows XP服務器2003“,右鍵單擊C槽時沒有擴展磁碟區選項。

No 延伸磁碟區

當延伸磁碟區變灰為C槽時該怎麼辦

解決方案1: 將未配置空間移到C槽旁邊

當擴展C槽的選項變灰時是因為未配置空間是 不相鄰的,提前將未配置空間移到C槽旁邊。 為此,您必須運行第三方軟件。 NIUBI Partition Editor 可以快速輕鬆地完成此任務。 它有免費版本 Windows 10/8/7/Vista/XP 家庭用戶。

縮小D或其他體積後將C槽擴展為灰色時該怎麼辦:

  1. 下載 NIUBI Partition Editor, 右鍵點擊 D: 驅動並選擇“Resize/Move Volume“,拖曳 中間位置 在彈出窗口中。 然後將未配置空間移到左側。
  2. 右鍵點擊 C: 驅動並選擇“Resize/Move Volume再次拖動 一場浪漫 在彈出窗口中,然後將未配置空間組合到C槽中。
  3. 點擊 Apply 在左上方生效。 此步驟之前的任何操作都只能在虛擬模式下進行。

觀看視頻如何操作。

Video guide

解決方案2: 使用NIUBI編輯器調整音量

如果右相鄰的分區D為 合乎邏輯 驅動器,將其縮小並在左側製作未配置空間,然後將其組合到C槽中。

由於D是邏輯磁碟機而將C槽擴展為灰色時該怎麼辦:

  1. 如果您沒有縮小D槽,請在其中右鍵單擊它 NIUBI Partition Editor 然後選擇“Resize/Move Volume“,拖曳 左側邊界 在彈出窗口中。 然後,您將在C槽後面得到未配置空間。
  2. 如果您已在磁碟管理中將其刪除,請創建一個新分區並按照步驟1進行操作。請記住單擊 Apply 生效。

觀看視頻如何操作。

Video guide

在磁碟管理中擴展為灰色的C槽時,找出原因並按照上面的相應方法進行操作。 除了縮小,移動和擴展分區之外, NIUBI Partition Editor 幫助執行許多其他磁盤和分區操作,例如轉換,複製,碎片整理,擦除,隱藏,掃描壞扇區。 比其他工具更好,它具有創新性 1秒回滾, 虛擬模式, 取消 保護系統和數據的技術。 由於先進 文件移動 算法,它是 30%300% 更快。

下載

Why extend C drive greyed out and how to fix

By James, Updated on: September 18, 2020

This article explains why the option to extend C drive greyed out in Disk Management and what to do when extend volume greyed out for C drive.

Applies to: Windows 10, Windows 8, Windows 7, Windows Server 2019, Windows Server 2016, Windows Server 2012 (R2), Small Business Server 2011, Windows Server 2008 (R2).

Better than the old Windows XP and Server 2003, Windows 7 and subsequent versions has new Shrink and Extend Volume functions built in Disk Management to help resize partition without losing data. Comparing with data volumes, system partition C is very likely running out of space. It can't be better if you can increase C drive space without wasting a long time to start over. But if you want to extend C drive with Disk Management, you'll be unsatisfied, because Extend Volume function is always greyed out. This article introduces why the option to extend C drive greyed out and how to fix this issue.

Why the option to extend C drive greyed out in Disk Management

Reason 1: no Unallocated space behind C drive

Firstly, you should know that the size of a physical hard disk is fixed, before extending a partition, there must be Unallocated space. Unallocated is a kind of disk space that is not belong to any allocated partition. Besides creating new partition, it can be added to other partitions. To get Unallocated space, you may either delete or shrink a partition.

Many people shrunk D drive or any nonadjacent partitions, but Extend Volume always greyed out for C drive. As you see in the screenshot, I got 20GB Unallocated space after shrinking D drive, but the option to extend C drive greyed out.

Extend Volume greyed out

This is because that Extend Volume function can only extend Unallocated space to the left contiguous partition, but Shrink Volume can only make Unallocated space on the right.

Unallocated space that shrunk from D drive is non adjacent to C drive, so Disk Management cannot extend C drive with this Unallocated space.

Reason 2: the adjacent D drive is Logical

If you don't want to use any third party software, the only way to extend C drive in Disk Management is by deleting the right contiguous partition D. After deleting this partition, you'll get Unallocated space that is next to C drive, then Extend Volume will be enabled. If there is no such partition or you cannot delete it, Disk Management is useless.

However, only when the contiguous D drive is a Primary partition, you can extend C drive by deleting D, otherwise, Extend Volume still greyed out for C drive. As you see in the screenshot, Extend C drive greyed out even after I deleting D and E drive.

Extend Volume greyed out

Extend Volume grayed out

In Disk Management, Free space deleted from Logical drive can't be extended to any Primary partition, Unallocated space deleted from Primary partition can't be extended to any Logical drives. This issue only exists on MBR disk, all partitions on GPT disk are Primary.

Why system C drive does not show Extend Volume option

Extend Volume feature is added from Windows Vista, so in Windows XP and Server 2003, when you right click C drive there's no Extend Volume option.

No Extend Volume

What to do when Extend Volume greyed out for C drive

Solution 1: move Unallocated space next to C drive

When the option to extend C drive greyed out is because that Unallocated space is non-adjacent, move Unallocated space next to C drive in advance. To do this, you have to run third party software. NIUBI Partition Editor can accomplish this task fast and easily. It has free edition for Windows 10/8/7/Vista/XP home users.

What to do when extend C drive greyed out after shrinking D or other volume:

  1. Download NIUBI Partition Editor, right click D: drive and select "Resize/Move Volume", drag middle position towards right in the pop-up window. Then Unallocated space is moved to the left side.
  2. Right click C: drive and select "Resize/Move Volume" again, drag right border towards right in the pop-up window, then Unallocated space is combined to C drive.
  3. Click Apply on top left to take effect. Any operations before this step only work in virtual mode.

Watch the video how to operate.

Video guide

Solution 2: resize volume with NIUBI editor

If the right contiguous partition D is Logical drive, shrink it and make Unallocated space on the left, and then combine it into C drive.

What to do when extend C drive greyed out because D is Logical drive:

  1. If you have not shrunk D drive, right click it in NIUBI Partition Editor and select "Resize/Move Volume", drag left border towards right in the pop-up window. Then you'll get Unallocated space behind C drive.
  2. If you have deleted it in Disk Management, create a new partition and follow step 1. Remember to click Apply to take effect.

Watch the video how to operate.

Video guide

When extending C drive greyed out in Disk Management, find out the reason and follow corresponding method above. Besides shrinking, moving and extending partitions, NIUBI Partition Editor helps do many other disk and partition operations such as convert, copy, defrag, wipe, hide, scan bad sectors. Better than other tools, it has innovative 1-Second Rollback, Virtual Mode, Cancel-at-well technologies to protect system and data. Because of the advanced file-moving algorithm, it is 30% to 300% faster.

Download