How to merge partitions in Windows Server 2012
In Windows Server 2012 Disk Management, you can create, delete and format volumes, but if you want to merge partitions, you need third party partition software. By merging volumes, you can reduce the number of partitions or extend a drive by combining the disk space of the other one. Only two adjacent drives can be merged directly. In this article I’ll show you how to merge partitions in Windows 2012 Server easily. If you want to extend C drive, the best idea is resizing instead of merging volumes.
Combine 2 data volumes
Better than the method of Disk Management that you have to manually transfer files, delete and extend volume step by step, here I introduce the easiest way by several clicks.
Steps to combine partitions in Windows Server 2012:
Step 1: Download NIUBI Partition Editor, right click the drive you want to combine and select Merge Volumes.
Step 2: Click the check-box in front the volumes that you want to combine together, and then click the drop-down box to select the target volume.
Step 3: drive E and F are merged together, you’ll see a pending operation “Merge volume F: to E:” on bottom left. Click Apply on top left to execute.
After partition merging complete, open drive E and you’ll see a folder named as F to E (date and time), all files in drive F are moved to this folder automatically.
How to merge partitions C and D
If you want to merge a data volume to system C drive, for example merge C and D drive, the steps are similar, however, there is difference.
Right click C or D drive and select Merge Volumes, in the pop-up window, select both drives.
When merging two data volumes, you can select either volume as target, but you can only select C drive when merging C and D. If you select D as target, you’ll receive error message.
If you merge partition C to D, C drive will be deleted, which cause system boot failure, so this operation is disabled.
Resizing instead of merging partitions
Yes it is very easy to merge volumes in Windows Server 2012, however, there is a defect that one of the volumes will be deleted. If you merge drive D into C, all services, applications and shortcuts become invalid, though all files of D are moved to C.
If you want to extend C drive, the best way is resizing instead of combining partitions. That is to say, shrink D to get free space and then add the free space to C drive, so everything keeps the same after resizing.