如何縮小分區 Windows Server 2016

作者:艾倫,更新日期:2020年8月13日

此頁面顯示瞭如何運行 Windows Server 2016 壓縮磁碟區功能,以及縮小分區中的更好方法 Windows 2016服務器不丟失數據。

有時您需要縮小分配的分區,例如,創建的分區太大,為了優化空間使用,您需要縮小它並創建更多的捲。 另一個典型的例子是 C槽空間不足,因此您需要壓縮其他磁碟區以獲取未配置的空間,然後添加到C槽中。 至 縮小 Windows 2016服務器不丟失數據,有兩種選擇:本機磁碟管理和3rd-party 磁盤分區軟件。 在本文中,我將介紹如何使用 Windows Server 2016 磁碟管理工具,此原生功能的缺點以及縮小分區的更好方法 Windows 2016服務器。

Windows Server 2016 壓縮磁碟區功能

除了 Windows Server 2008,微軟內置了壓縮磁碟區功能 磁碟管理工具,它可以減少分區並騰出未配置的空間,而不會丟失數據,並且不會在運行中。 但是,僅支持NTFS分區。 Windows Server 2016 繼承相同的功能而沒有任何改進,因此您 不能縮小分區 Windows 在某些情況下為2016服務器。

如何壓縮磁碟區 Windows Server 2016 磁碟管理:

  1. WindowsX 一起在鍵盤上,然後從列表中單擊磁碟管理。
  2. 右鍵單擊要減少的分區,然後選擇 壓縮磁碟區.
  3. 輸入要縮小的空間量(以MB為單位),然後單擊“縮小”以執行。 如果您不手動輸入金額,將使用最大可用空間。
    Shrink partition

有時,原來的50GB D槽會縮小到30GB。 20GB未使用空間轉換為 未配置 在右側。

Volume shrank

磁碟管理僅給您一個輸入金額的選項,沒有其他選擇來選擇在左側或右側騰出未配置空間。 這將導致嚴重的問題,即該未配置空間無法添加到其他驅動器。 換句話說,您不能收縮D來擴展C槽。 因為要用另一個擴展C槽 延伸磁碟區 功能,未配置空間必須位於驅動器D的左側。

Server 2016 DM中無法縮小卷的情況

許多服務器管理員遇到的問題是 無法通過Server 2016縮小分區,因為在右鍵單擊分區後禁用了壓縮磁碟區。

原因1: 僅支持NTFS分區

如上所述,磁碟管理只能縮小NTFS分區。 為了向您展示事實,我在測試服務器中將D:驅動器從NTFS格式化為FAT32。 正如你看到的, 壓縮磁碟區為灰色 對於此分區。 不能收縮另一個常見的FAT32分區和任何其他類型的分區。

壓縮磁碟區 disabled

原因2: 文件系統錯誤

有時,當分區中出現文件系統錯誤時,磁碟管理將不允許縮小它。 從屏幕截圖中可以看到,系統C槽中有7.53GB的可用空間,但是在縮小的窗口中,可用空間顯示為0。

Cannot shrink

原因3: 無法移動的文件

在這種情況下,壓縮磁碟區功能仍然有效,但是儘管有大量的可用空間,但壓縮後的可用空間很小。 您是否注意到音量縮小窗口中的提示-“您不能將捲縮小到超出任何無法移動文件的位置"?

Shrink limitation

例如:C槽有4個塊。 如果不可移動文件位於塊3中,則您 無法收縮C槽 阻止2或1,儘管它們為空白。

Unmovable files

與數據分割區相比,您很可能在遇到數據問題的同時 收縮系統C槽,因為不可移動文件包括頁面文件,休眠和其他大型系統文件,默認情況下它們位於C槽中。

縮小分區的更好方法 Windows 2016服務器

縮小分區 Windows Server 2016, NIUBI Partition Editor 更容易,更強大。 與...比較 Windows 作為本地的磁碟管理,NIUBI具有許多優勢,例如:

如何縮小分區 Windows Server 2016 與NIUBI:

  1. 下載資源 NIUBI Partition Editor,右鍵單擊要縮小的分區,然後選擇“Resize/Move Volume".
  2. 拖動 邊界 朝彈出窗口的另一側移動,則此分區將縮小。 (備註: 如果您想縮小D來擴展C槽,則最好縮小D並在其左側留出未配置的空間。)
  3. 點擊 Apply 確認並執行。 (點擊之前的所有操作 Apply 僅適用於虛擬模式。)

觀看視頻如何縮小Server 2016分區:

Video guide

綜上所述

由於固有的限制, Windows 磁碟管理只能幫助您縮小NTFS分區以創建新分區,或通過刪除右側相鄰的分區來擴展NTFS分區。 縮小 Windows Server 2016, NIUBI Partition Editor 服務器 是更好的選擇。

與其他軟件相比,NIUBI由於其獨特的1秒回滾,虛擬模式,井中取消技術和高級文件移動算法而更加安全,快捷。 它還可以幫助您移動,合併,複製,轉換,隱藏,擦除分區等等。

下載

Shrink partition in Windows Server 2016

Updated on: November 16, 2019

This article introduces how to run Shrink Volume in Windows Server 2016, when it doesn't work, run NIUBI to shrink Server 2016 partition without losing data.

Sometimes you need to shrink disk partition to decrease volume size if it is created too large or you want to create more partitions. To shrink volume for Windows 2016 Server without losing data, there are two choices: native Shrink Volume function in Disk Management, or 3rd-party disk partition software. This article introduces the ability and disadvantages of native Shrink Volume function, and the better way to shrink partition in Windows server 2016.

Windows Server 2016 Shrink Volume function

From Windows Server 2008, Microsoft added Shrink Volume function in built-in Disk Management tool, which is able to shrink partition without losing data and on the fly. However, only NTFS partition is supported. Windows Server 2016 inherit the same function without any improvement, so you can't shrink partition for Windows 2016 server in some cases.

How to run Shrink Volume in Windows Server 2016 Disk Management:

  1. Press Windows and X together on the keyboard and click Disk Management from the list.
  2. Right click the partition that you want to decrease and select Shrink Volume.
  3. Enter the amount of space to shrink in MB, and then click Shrink to execute.
    Shrink partition

In a while, original 50GB D drive is shrank to 30GB. 20GB unused space is converted to Unallocated on the right side.

Volume shrank

Disk Management only give you an option to enter an amount, there is no extra option to select making Unallocated space on left or right side. It causes a serious issue that this Unallocated space cannot be added to other drive. In other words, you cannot shrink D to extend C drive. Because to expand C drive with another Extend Volume function, Unallocated space must be on the left side of drive D. With Disk Management, you can only create new partition after shrinking, or extend a NTFS partition by deleting the right contiguous volume.

Cannot shrink partition in Server 2016 Disk Management

Many server administrators encountered the issue that they cannot shrink partition in Server 2016 Disk Management, because Shrink Volume is disabled after right clicking a partition.

Reason 1: only NTFS partition is supported

To show you the truth, I formatted drive D from NTFS to FAT32 in my test server. As you see, Shrink Volume is greyed out for drive D. Server 2016 Shrink Volume function only support shrinking NTFS and RAW (no file system) partitions. Another common FAT32 and any other types of partitions cannot be shrunk.

Shrink Volume disabled

Reason 2: File System error

Sometimes, when there's File System error in a partition, Disk Management won't allow shrinking it. As you see in the screenshot, there's 7.53GB free space in system C drive, but in the shrinking window, available free space is shown as 0.

Cannot shrink

Reason 3: unmovable files

In this situation, Shrink Volume function still works but it gives little available space to shrink, although there's large amount of free space. Have you noticed the tip in the shrinking volume window - "You cannot shrink a volume beyond the point where any unmovable files are located"?

Shrink limitation

For example: C drive is composed of 4 blocks. If the unmovable files are located in block 3, you cannot shrink C drive to block 2 or 1 although they are blank.

Unmovable files

Comparing with data volumes, you are very likely encounter this issue while shrinking system partition C, because the unmovable files include Page File, Hibernation and other large system files, which are located in C: drive by default.

Better way to shrink partition in Windows Server 2016

To shrink partition in Windows Server 2016, NIUBI Partition Editor is much easier and more powerful. Comparing with Windows native Disk Management, NIUBI has many advantages such as:

Steps to shrink partition volume in Windows Server 2016 with NIUBI:

  1. Download NIUBI Partition Editor, right click the partition that you want to shrink and then select "Resize/Move Volume".
  2. Drag either border towards the other side in the pop-up window, then this partition will be shrank. (Note: if you want to shrink D to expand C drive, you'd better shrink D and make Unallocated space on its left side.)
  3. Click Apply on top left to confirm and execute. (All operations before clicking Apply only works in virtual mode.)

Watch the video how to shrink Server 2016 partitions:

Video guide

In Summary

Because of the inherent limitations, Windows Disk Management can only help you shrink NTFS partition to create new, or extend by deleting the right contiguous partition. To shrink volume in Windows Server 2016, NIUBI Partition Editor Server is better choice.

Comparing with other software, NIUBI is much safer and faster because of its unique 1 Second Rollback, Virtual Mode, Cancel-at-well technologies and advanced file-moving algorithm. It also helps you move, merge, copy, convert, hide, wipe partition and much more.

DOWNLOAD