如何擴展分區 Windows 2016服務器

by Andy,更新於:2021年10月1日

磁盤空間不足 是常見的問題 Windows Server 2016 和其他版本,特別是系統C槽。 要解決此問題,您有 2 個選擇。 備份所有內容,重新創建分區並恢復。 這樣做會浪費這麼長時間。 更好的選擇是在其他卷中擴展具有可用空間的分區。 擴展分區 Windows Server 2016,也有 2 個選擇。 運行磁碟管理或第三方磁盤分區軟件。 由於諸多限制,磁碟管理並非最佳選擇。 在本文中,我將介紹如何在 Windows Server 2016 兩種工具。 選擇一款適合您的需求。

關於我們 Windows Server 2016 延伸磁碟區功能

所有磁盤分區在安裝操作系統時或由服務器 OEM 製造商分配。 服務器運行一段時間後,系統 C槽已滿。 最初,您必須備份,重新創建分區並還原所有內容。 完成此任務可能需要花費一整天的時間。

Windows Server 2008, 微軟添加了新的 延伸磁碟區 本機功能 磁碟管理工具,您可以 增加磁盤空間 分配的分區中沒有丟失數據。

但是,由於磁碟管理的某些限制,只能擴展很少的分區。 Windows Server 2016 延伸磁碟區 該功能是從舊版本繼承而來,沒有任何改進,因此許多服務器管理員反饋說他們 無法擴展分區 用這個工具。 在大多數情況下,您仍然需要第三方軟件來擴展 Server 2016 分區。

無法擴展硬碟區

如何在中運行延伸磁碟區 Windows Server 2016 沒有軟件

  1. WindowsX 一起在鍵盤上,然後從列表中單擊磁碟管理。
  2. 右擊右側相鄰分區(如D:),選擇刪除硬碟區。
  3. 右鍵單擊左側的相鄰分區並選擇 延伸磁碟區.
    延伸磁碟區
  4. 延伸磁碟區精靈 將被啟動,只需單擊 下一步 以繼續。
  5. 默認情況下,“可用磁盤和空間”處於選中狀態,單擊 下一步 以繼續。
  6. 點擊 完成 確認並開始擴展。

大多數情況下,左側分區可以在短時間內擴展。

Drive extended

當有連續的未配置空間時,使用Server 2016 磁碟管理很容易擴展分區,但不能通過縮小任何其他分區來獲得所需的空間。 唯一的選擇是 刪除 右側的連續分區。

磁碟管理Server 2016擴展分區的限制

GPT和MBR是兩種常見的硬盤類型 Windows 計算機,如果您的磁盤是 GPT,則有 2 個常見限制,而 使用 Server 2016 擴展分區 磁碟管理。 如果您的磁盤是 MBR,則有 2 個額外的限制。

無法通過縮小另一個分區來擴展分區

還有另一個 壓縮磁碟區 在磁碟管理功能中,很多人試圖縮小D槽,得到一些未配置空間,但發現根本不可能 在C槽中添加未配置空間. 這是在運行延伸磁碟區時最常見的問題 Windows Server 2016 磁碟管理。

Cannot 擴展硬碟區

如屏幕截圖所示, 延伸磁碟區變灰了 對於C:和E:在縮小D之後驅動。

這是因為:延伸磁碟區僅在 未配置空間 在右側,但壓縮磁碟區只能在縮小分區的同時在左側留下未配置的空間。

在我的電腦中,從D槽縮小的20GB未配置空間與C槽不相鄰,在E的左邊,所以 延伸磁碟區被禁用.

啟用延伸磁碟區的唯一方法 Windows Server 2016 磁碟管理由 刪除 右側相鄰的分區。 注意: 如果您安裝了程序或任何 Windows D驅動器中的服務,請勿刪除它。

僅NTFS分區可以擴展

延伸磁碟區 disabled

NTFS和FAT32是最常見的分區類型 Windows 計算機,但收縮和延伸磁碟區功能僅支持 NTFS 劃分。

這意味著,如果要擴展的分區是使用FAT32或其他文件系統格式化的,則您 無法擴展此分區 即使您可以刪除右側相鄰的分區。

要刪除和擴展的分區類型必須相同

此限制僅存在於MBR樣式磁盤中。 您要刪除和擴展的分區必須是相同的“主”或“邏輯磁碟機”,否則,刪除“相鄰”的捲後仍無法擴展分區。

Cannot extend

延伸磁碟區 greyed out

無法將 Server 2016 分區擴展到 2 TB 以上

在 MBR 磁盤上,還有另一個主要不足。 即使此磁盤或 RAID 陣列為 2TB 或更大,您也只能使用 4TB 磁盤空間。 剩餘空間在磁碟管理中顯示為“未配置”,右擊沒有可用選項。 如果您要擴展的分區是NTFS,並且有相鄰的未配置空間,但延伸磁碟區選項是灰色的。 找出磁盤或 RAID 陣列的大小。 如果大於2TB,按照方法 將MBR磁盤轉換為GPT.

擴展分區的更好方法 Windows 2016服務器

這款獨特的敏感免洗唇膜採用 Moisture WrapTM 技術和 Berry Mix ComplexTM 成分, NIUBI Partition Editor 服務器,沒有這樣的限制,與 Windows 磁碟管理,具有許多優點,例如:

  1. 它可以縮小和擴展NTFS和FAT32分區。
  2. 縮小分區時,它可以在左側或右側創建未配置空間。
  3. 它可以通過1步將未配置空間組合到任一連續分區,無論該分區是NTFS還是FAT32,Primary或​​Logical。
  4. 它可以將未配置空間移動並合併到同一磁盤上的任何非相鄰分區。
  5. 輕鬆得多,您只需單擊,拖放磁盤映射即可。
  6. 合併,複製,轉換,碎片整理,擦除,隱藏分區,掃描壞扇區以及更多功能。

有很多軟件可以幫助擴展分區 Windows Server 2016,但很少有足夠安全的,包括 Windows 磁碟管理。 優於其他工具, NIUBI Partition Editor 擁有創新技術來保護您的系統和數據,例如:

  • 虛擬模式 -所有操作都將列為待處理預覽,在單擊之前,不會更改實際磁盤分區 Apply 確認。
  • 取消 -如果您執行了錯誤的操作,那麼沒關係,您可以取消正在進行的操作而不會造成損壞。
  • 1秒回滾 -如果在調整分區大小時出現任何問題,它將自動將服務器恢復為原始狀態。 如果發生這種情況,您的服務器可能會迅速恢復在線狀態而無需進行修改。

如何使用以下方法擴展Server 2016卷 NIUBI Partition Editor:

  1. 下載 服務器版,右鍵 D: 驅動並選擇“Resize/Move Volume”,將 左側邊界 在彈出窗口中。
  2. 右鍵單擊C槽,然後選擇“Resize/Move Volume再次拖動 一場浪漫 朝右合併未配置空間。
  3. 點擊 Apply 在左上方執行。 (此步驟之前的所有操作僅在虛擬模式下有效。)

如果您使用任何類型的硬件RAID陣列或在VMware / Hyper-V中將Server 2016作為來賓計算機運行,則可以縮小和擴展分區以實現以下目的 Windows 2016服務器。

觀看擴展 Server 2016 分區的完整步驟:

Video guide

如果同一個磁盤上沒有可用空間,則沒有軟件可以通過從另一個單獨的磁盤添加可用空間來擴展硬碟區。 在這種情況下,請按照以下步驟擴展分區 複製到更大的磁盤.

綜上所述

Windows Server 2016 延伸磁碟區功能只能通過刪除右邊的相鄰卷來擴展NTFS分區。 由於繼承的局限性,磁碟管理在大多數情況下無法擴展分區。 擴展分區 Windows 2016服務器, NIUBI Partition Editor 是最佳選擇,它有助於輕鬆、快速、安全地完成這項任務。 它還有助於合併、轉換、碎片整理、隱藏、擦除分區等等。

下載

How to Extend Partition in Windows 2016 Server

by Andy, Updated on: October 1, 2021

Low disk space is common issue in Windows Server 2016 and other versions, especially to system partition C. To solve this problem, you have 2 choices. Back up everything, recreate partitions and restore. It wastes such a long time if you do like this. The better choice is extending partition with free space in other volume. To extend partition in Windows Server 2016, there are 2 choices, too. Run Disk Management or third party disk partition software. Because of many restrictions, Disk Management is not the best choice. In this article, I'll introduce how to extend partition in Windows Server 2016 with both kinds of tools. Select the one that fits for your needs.

About Windows Server 2016 Extend Volume function

All disk partitions are allocated when installing Operating System or by server OEM manufacturer. After running the server for a period of time, system C drive is getting full. Originally, you have to back up, recreate partitions and restore everything. It may cost a whole day to complete this task.

From Windows Server 2008, Microsoft added new Extend Volume function in native Disk Management tool, with which you can increase disk space of the allocated partitions without losing data.

However, only few partitions can be extended because of some limitations of Disk Management. Windows Server 2016 Extend Volume function is inherited from old version without any improvement, so many server administrators feedback that they cannot extend partition with this tool. You still need third party software to extend Server 2016 partition in most cases.

Cannot extend volume

How to run Extend Volume in Windows Server 2016 without software

  1. Press Windows and X together on the keyboard and then click Disk Management from the list.
  2. Right click the adjacent partition on the right (such as D:) and select Delete Volume.
  3. Right click the adjacent partition on the left and select Extend Volume.
    Extend Volume
  4. Extend Volume Wizard will be launched, simply click Next to continue.
  5. Available disk and space is selected by default, click Next to continue.
  6. Click Finish to confirm and start extending.

In most cases, the left partition can be extended in a short time.

Drive extended

It is easy to extend partition with Server 2016 Disk Management when there's contiguous Unallocated space, but you cannot get such required space by shrinking any other partition. The only option is deleting the contiguous partition on the right.

Limitations to extend partition in Server 2016 Disk Management

GPT and MBR are 2 common types of hard disk in Windows computer, if your disk is GPT, there are 2 common limitations while extending partition with Server 2016 Disk Management. If your disk is MBR, there are 2 additional limitations.

Cannot extend a partition by shrinking another one

There's another Shrink Volume function in Disk Management, many people tried to shrink D drive and got some Unallocated space, but they found that it's impossible to add Unallocated space into C drive. This is the most common issue while running Extend Volume in Windows Server 2016 Disk Management.

Cannot extend volume

As you see in the screenshot, Extend Volume greyed out for both C: and E: drive after shrinking D.

This is because: Extend Volume only works when there's adjacent Unallocated space on the right, but Shrink Volume can only make Unallocated space on the left while shrinking a partition.

In my computer, the 20GB Unallocated space that shrunk from D drive is non-adjacent to C drive and is on the left of E, so Extend Volume is disabled.

The only way to enable Extend Volume in Windows Server 2016 Disk Management is by deleting the right contiguous partition. Caution: if you installed programs or any Windows services in drive D, do not delete it.

Only NTFS partition can be extended

Extend Volume disabled

NTFS and FAT32 are most common partition type in Windows computers, but both Shrink and Extend Volume functions only support NTFS partition.

That means, if the partition that you want to expand is formatted with FAT32 or other file system, you cannot extend this partition even if you can delete the right contiguous partition.

The partitions that you want to delete and extend must be the same type

This limitation only exists in MBR style disk. The partitions that you want to delete and extend must be the same Primary or Logical partition, otherwise, you still cannot extend partition after deleting the right contiguous volume.

Cannot extend

Extend Volume greyed out

Cannot extend Server 2016 partition past 2 TB

On MBR disk, there's another major shortage. You can only use 2TB disk space even if this disk or RAID array is 4TB or larger. The remaining space is shown as Unallocated in Disk Management, when you right click it, there's no available options. If the partition that you want to extend is NTFS and there's adjacent Unallocated space but Extend Volume option is grayed out. Find out the size of your disk or RAID array. If it is larger than 2TB, follow the method to convert MBR disk to GPT.

Better way to extend partition in Windows 2016 server

With NIUBI Partition Editor Server, there are no such limitations, comparing with Windows Disk Management, it has many advantages such as:

  1. It can shrink and extend both NTFS and FAT32 partitions.
  2. It can make Unallocated space on either left or right side while shrinking partitions.
  3. It can combine Unallocated space to either contiguous partition by 1 step, no matter this partition is NTFS or FAT32, Primary or Logical.
  4. It can move and merge Unallocated space to any non-adjacent partition on the same disk.
  5. Much easier, you just need to click, drag and drop on the disk map.
  6. Merge, copy, convert, defrag, wipe, hide partition, scan bad sectors and much more functions.

There are many software to help extend partition in Windows Server 2016, but few are safe enough including Windows Disk Management. Better than other tools, NIUBI Partition Editor has innovative technologies to protect your system and data such as:

  • Virtual Mode - all operations will be listed as pending for preview, real disk partitions won't be changed until click Apply to confirm.
  • Cancel-at-well - if you applied incorrect operations, it doesn't matter, you can cancel the ongoing operations without causing damage.
  • 1-Second Rollback - if anything goes wrong while resizing partition, it automatically reverts server to original status in a flash. If it happens, your server could back online rapidly without modification.

How to extend Server 2016 volume with NIUBI Partition Editor:

  1. Download the server edition, right click D: drive and select "Resize/Move Volume", drag the left border towards right in the pop-up window.
  2. Right click C: drive and select "Resize/Move Volume" again, drag right border towards right to combine Unallocated space.
  3. Click Apply on top left to execute. (All operations before this step only works in virtual mode.)

If you use any types of hardware RAID array or run Server 2016 as guest machine in VMware/Hyper-V, there's no difference to shrink and extend partitions for Windows 2016 server.

Watch the full steps to extend Server 2016 partition:

Video guide

If there's no available free space on the same disk, no software can extend volume by adding free space from another separate disk. In that case, follow the steps to extend partition by copying to a larger disk.

In Summary

Windows Server 2016 Extend Volume function can only extend NTFS partition by deleting the right adjacent volume. Because of the inherited limitations, Disk Management cannot extend partition in most cases. To extend partition in Windows 2016 server, NIUBI Partition Editor is the best choice, it helps accomplish this task easily, fast and safely. It also helps merge, convert, defrag, hide, wipe partition and much more.

DOWNLOAD