無法在中擴展C槽 Windows Server 2012

作者:約翰,更新日期:2020年12月8日

本文說明了為什麼無法在 Windows Server 2012 R2磁碟管理以及如果無法擴展C槽分區該怎麼辦。

關於磁碟管理中的延伸磁碟區

磁盤分區是在安裝操作系統時分配的,但是有時您需要 更改分區大小。 例如:一個體積太大而您需要縮小它,或者係統 C槽已滿 並且您想要擴展它。 幫助 調整分區大小 無需重新安裝操作系統或丟失數據。 Microsoft提供了高級收縮和 延伸磁碟區 Server 2008中的磁碟管理功能。

但是,這兩個功能都有限制。 典型的問題是磁碟管理 無法延伸磁碟區 通過縮小另一個。 Windows Server 2012 繼承了相同的功能而沒有任何改進,因此許多人反饋說 無法擴展C槽 在Server 2012磁碟管理中,甚至在縮小或刪除分區D之後也是如此。在本文中,我將向您介紹無法擴展C槽中的原因以及對您的影響 Windows Server 2012 (R2)。

為什麼不能在Server 2012 R2中擴展C槽

收縮和延伸磁碟區均支持 NTFS 僅分區,但是,這對系統C槽不是問題,因為默認情況下,系統分區是使用NTFS格式化的。 無法擴展C槽的最常見原因 Windows Server 2012 包括:

  1. 右側沒有連續的未配置空間
  2. 相鄰驅動器(D :)是邏輯磁碟機。

我會一一解釋。

原因1。 右側沒有相鄰的未配置空間

擴展硬碟區 disabled

首先,您應該知道物理磁盤的大小是固定的,因此 擴展C槽,必須有免費 未配置 空間。 如果您沒有刪除或縮小另一個卷來獲得這樣的空間,那麼您當然不能使用任何工具來擴展C槽。

顯然,最好通過縮小卷來獲得未配置的空間,因為這樣不會丟失文件。 問題是,縮小D或其他分區後,仍然無法擴展C槽。

如您在我的服務器中看到的, 延伸磁碟區已被禁止使用C D縮小後驅動器。這是因為:

  • 延伸磁碟區僅在右側和同一磁盤上有未配置的相鄰空間時才起作用。
  • 壓縮磁碟區只能在縮小分區的同時在右側騰出未配置的空間。

從D:驅動器縮小的未配置空間與C不相鄰,因此 延伸磁碟區變灰了。 這是為什麼無法使用磁碟管理在Server 2012(R2)中擴展C插槽的最常見原因。

2. 右側相鄰的分區是Logical

此問題僅存在於 MBR 磁盤,如果您使用GPT磁盤,則可以忽略此部分。

因為 Windows Server 2012 無法通過縮小其他卷來擴展C槽,有些人想知道是否可以刪除D槽來獲得連續的未配置空間。 是的,如果D是一個  劃分。 如果是邏輯磁碟機,則刪除後仍無法在磁碟管理中擴展C槽。

這是因為:

在MBR樣式的硬盤上,您可以創建最大 4 主要磁碟分割,或3個主要磁碟分割加上一個延伸磁碟分割。延伸磁碟分割的工作就像一個容器,所有邏輯磁碟機都應該放在其中。 從邏輯磁碟機刪除的可用空間不能擴展到任何主要磁碟分割。 同樣,從主要磁碟分割中刪除的未配置空間不能擴展到任何邏輯磁碟機。

Cannot extend

如您在我的測試服務器中所看到的,刪除後,D槽的磁盤空間顯示為“空閒”而不是未配置。 它仍然是延伸磁碟分割的一部分,因此 延伸磁碟區不起作用。 如果要將此可用空間轉換為未配置,則必須 刪除 其他邏輯磁碟機和整個延伸磁碟分割。 顯然,這不是一個好主意。

無法擴展C槽時該怎麼辦 Windows Server 2012

NIUBI Partition Editor,這個問題很容易解決。 它可以通過1步將未配置或可用空間組合到連續分區。 當未配置空間不相鄰時,它可以移動它,然後合併到同一磁盤上的其他分區。

下載資源 它,您將看到包含磁盤分區結構和其他信息的主窗口。 通過磁碟管理從D槽縮小了20GB未配置空間。

NIUBI Partition Editor

什麼時候做什麼 Windows Server 2012 D縮小後無法擴展C槽:

STEP 1: 右鍵點擊 D:驅動並選擇“Resize/Move Volume“,拖曳 中間 在彈出窗口中:

Move rightwards

然後D移到右側,未配置空間移到左側。

Move 未配置 space

STEP 2: 右鍵點擊 C: 驅動並選擇“Resize/Move Volume再次拖動 右側邊界 在彈出窗口中。

Expand C槽

然後將未配置空間合併到C槽中。

未配置 add to C

STEP 3: 點擊 Apply 在左上方生效。 (點擊前的操作 Apply 只能在虛擬模式下工作。)

觀看視頻,了解如何移動未配置空間並添加到C槽:

Video guide

如果刪除D後無法在Server 2012 R2中擴展C槽,該怎麼辦:

  1. 用以下命令重新創建該分區 Windows 磁碟管理。
  2. 縮小或刪除該分區以獲取未配置空間 NIUBI Partition Editor。 騰出未配置空間 在左邊 如果要縮小此分區。
  3. 右鍵單擊C槽,然後將未配置空間與“Resize/Move Volume".

比其他軟件更好 NIUBI Partition Editor 具有獨特的1秒回滾,虛擬模式和井中取消技術,可以保護您的系統和數據。 除了縮小,移動和擴展分區,它還可以幫助您執行許多其他磁盤分區管理操作。

下載資源

Solution - Cannot Extend C Drive in Windows Server 2012 R2

by John, Updated on: August 23, 2022

Disk partitions are allocated while installing Operating System, but sometimes you need to change partition size. For example: shrink a large volume to create more partitions, or extend system C drive when it is getting full. To help resize partition, Microsoft provides "Shrink Volume" and "Extend Volume" functions in Disk Management from Server 2008. However, both functions have many disadvantages. The typical issue is that Disk Management cannot extend a volume by shrinking another one. Windows Server 2012 inherited the same functions without any improvement. Therefore, many people feedback that they cannot extend C drive in Server 2012 R2 with Disk Management, even after shrinking or deleting partition D. In this article, I'll introduce why you are unable to extend C drive in Windows Server 2012 (R2) with Disk Management and how to solve this problem easily.

Why Disk Management cannot extend C drive in Server 2012 R2

Both Shrink and Extend Volume functions support NTFS partition only. However, it is not an issue to C drive, because system partition is formatted with NTFS by default. The most common reasons why you are unable to extend C: drive in Windows Server 2012 (R2) include:

  1. No contiguous Unallocated space on the right
  2. The adjacent drive (D:) is Logical partition.

I'll explain one by one.

Reason 1: No adjacent Unallocated space on the right

Extend volume disabled

First of all, you should know that the size of a physical disk is fixed, thus before extending C drive, there must be Unallocated space. If you did not delete or shrink another volume to get such space, of course you cannot extend C drive with any tool.

Obviously, it is better to get Unallocated space by shrinking a volume, because you won't lose files in it. The problem is that you still cannot expand C drive after shrinking D or other partitions. As you see in my server, Extend Volume is disabled for C drive after shrinking D. This is because:

  • "Extend Volume" only works when there's adjacent Unallocated space on the right.
  • "Shrink Volume" can only make Unallocated space on the right while shrinking a partition.

The Unallocated space that shrunk from D: drive is nonadjacent to C, so Extend Volume is grayed out. This is the most common reason why you can't extend C drive in Server 2012 (R2) with Disk Management.

Reason 2: The right contiguous partition is Logical

This issue only exists on MBR disk, you can ignore this section if you use GPT disk.

Because Windows Server 2012 cannot extend C drive by shrinking other volume, some people are wondering if it is possible to delete D drive to get contiguous Unallocated space. The answer is yes if D is a Primary partition. If it is a Logical drive, you still cannot extend C drive in Disk Management after deleting.

This is because:

On a MBR style hard disk, you can create maximum 4 Primary partitions, or 3 Primary partitions plus an Extended partition. Extended partition works like a container and all Logical partitions should be inside of it. Free space that deleted from a Logical partition can't be extended to any Primary partition. Likewise, Unallocated space deleted from a Primary partition can't be extended to any Logical partition.

Cannot extend

As you see in my test server, disk space of D drive is shown as "Free" instead of "Unallocated" after deleting. It is still part of the Extended partition, so Extend Volume doesn't work. If you want to convert this Free space to Unallocated, you must delete all other Logical drives and the entire Extended partition. Obviously, it's a bad idea.

Reason 3: 2TB restriction on MBR disk

Because Windows 2012 server has running for so many years, the system disk is small when building the server. Some people replaced the system disk with a larger one. If this disk is MBR, you cannot extend C drive past 2TB, even if there's adjacent Unallocated space on the right.

What to do when unable to extend C drive in Windows Server 2012

With NIUBI Partition Editor, this problem can be solved easily. It is able to combine Unallocated or Free space to either contiguous partition with 1 step. When the Unallocated space is nonadjacent, it is able to move it and then combine to other partition on the same disk.

Download it and you'll see the main window with disk partition structure and other information. There is 20GB Unallocated space that is shrunk from D drive via Disk Management.

NIUBI Partition Editor

Steps when you are unable to extend C drive in Windows Server 2012 R2 after shrinking D:

Step 1: Right click D: drive and select "Resize/Move Volume", drag the middle  of this partition towards right in the pop-up window:

Move rightwards

Then D is moved to the right and Unallocated space is moved to the left side.

Move Unallocated space

Step 2: Right click C: drive and select "Resize/Move Volume" again, drag right border towards right in the pop-up window.

Expand C drive

Then Unallocated space is merged into C: drive.

Unallocated add to C

Step 3: Click Apply on top left to take effect. (The operations before clicking Apply just work in virtual mode.)

Watch the video how to move Unallocated space and add to C drive:

Video guide

Steps you cannot extend C drive in Server 2012 R2 after deleting D:

  1. Recreate this partition with Windows Disk Management.
  2. Shrink or delete this partition to get Unallocated space with NIUBI Partition Editor. Make Unallocated space on the left if you want to shrink this partition.
  3. Right click C drive and merge Unallocated space with "Resize/Move Volume".

Steps when you can't extend C drive in Windows 2012 server past 2TB:

  1. Follow the steps to convert MBR disk to GPT.
  2. Run NIUBI Partition Editor to merge or move Unallocated space to C drive.

Better than other software, NIUBI Partition Editor has unique 1 Second Rollback, Virtual Mode and Cancel-at-well technologies to protect your system and data. Besides shrinking, moving and extending partition, it helps you do many other disk partition management operations.

Download