擴展音量已禁用/顯示為灰色 Windows 7

更新日期:16年2019月XNUMX日

本文介紹了為什麼“擴展量”在 Windows 7 32/64位以及當系統C驅動器或其他卷禁用擴展卷時的解決方案。

C盤滿了 還普及至 磁盤空間不足 是最常見的問題 Windows 7電腦,無論您使用筆記本電腦還是台式機,都使用SSD或傳統的機械硬盤作為操作系統。 沒有人喜歡重新創建磁盤分區然後重新安裝 Windows 和所有程序。 所以微軟補充 縮量 還普及至 擴展卷 磁盤管理中的“磁盤管理”功能可幫助您重新分配磁盤空間而不會丟失數據。

但是,這兩個功能都有局限性,在 調整磁盤分區的大小。 通過Google進行搜索,您會發現很多人遇到相同的問題: 擴展音量已禁用 D縮小後用於C驅動器。本文介紹了可能的原因以及如何解決“擴展卷變灰”的問題。 Windows 7.

原因 Windows 7擴展量變灰

有四個常見原因導致“擴展量”顯示為灰色 Windows 7磁盤管理,我將一一介紹。 打開磁盤管理,然後找到自己的磁盤分區配置和結構。

原因1。 沒有相鄰的未分配空間

300GB硬盤不能增加到500GB(VMware / Hyper-V虛擬磁盤除外),因此 在擴展驅動器之前,您應該獲得一些未分配的空間。 顧名思義,該空間未分配給任何驅動器。 在 Windows XP磁盤管理,未分配空間只能用於創建新驅動器。 在 Windows 7,可以將其添加到其他驅動器上 增加分區大小.

要獲得未分配的空間,您可以選擇 刪除 or 縮小 一個驅動器。 刪除卷後,其所有磁盤空間將轉換為“未分配”,但您將丟失其中的所有文件。 通過縮小卷,只有部分可用的未使用空間將轉換為“未分配”,但不會丟失文件。

顯然,最好是 縮小分區 獲得未分配的空間。 問題是你 不能擴大音量 使用“磁盤管理”縮小另一個磁盤後。 如屏幕截圖所示, 擴展音量已禁用 對於C:和E:在縮小D之後驅動。

擴展音量已禁用

這是因為:

  • 縮小音量功能只能在 權利 同時縮小任何分區。
  • 擴展音量功能只能將未分配的空間組合到 鄰近的 分區 離開.

這是最常見的問題 Windows 計算機用戶。

擴展C:驅動器分區,您應該運行第三方軟件來 移動未分配的空間 從D驅動器的右側到左側。 至 合併未分配的空間 在右側連續分區(E :)上,也需要第三方軟件。

原因2。 僅支持NTFS

擴展音量的另一個令人討厭的限制是,僅 NTFS 支持分區。 你不能擴展 FAT32 或任何其他類型的分區,即使右側有相鄰的未分配空間。

擴展音量已禁用

但是,大多數係統C驅動器是使用NTFS格式化的,因此此問題對於數據驅動器來說很常見。

在這種情況下,您還需要 NIUBI Partition Editor,調整NTFS和FAT32分區的大小沒有區別。

原因3。 主分區和邏輯分區之間的限制

在MBR樣式的硬盤中,從 合乎邏輯 分區不能擴展到任何 劃分。 主分區中未分配的空間縮減不能擴展到任何邏輯驅動器。

延長音量為灰色

就像我上面說過的,從D驅動器收縮的未分配空間與C驅動器不相鄰,因此“擴展卷”顯示為灰色。

有些人試圖刪除分區以獲得相鄰的未分配空間。 當您通過刪除相鄰的主分區來擴展主分區,或通過刪除相鄰的邏輯驅動器來擴展邏輯分區時,此方法有效。 但是您不能通過刪除邏輯分區來擴展主分區,也不能通過刪除主分區來擴展邏輯驅動器。

如屏幕截圖所示,刪除右連續分區E後,D驅動器的“擴展卷”變灰。

要將可用空間轉換為未分配,必須刪除 所有 邏輯驅動器和擴展分區。

在MBR磁盤中,只有4個條目 主引導記錄,因此您只能創建 4 主分區或3個主分區加上一個 擴展 劃分。 與獨立工作的主分區不同,邏輯驅動器是擴展分區的一部分,這就是為什麼它顯示為 免費 刪除後。

對於NIUBI分區編輯器,調整主分區和邏輯分區的大小也沒有區別。

原因4。 MBR磁盤的限制

如今,硬盤要大得多,並且個人計算機通常使用2TB到4TB的磁盤。 但是,如果將大磁盤初始化為MBR,則會遇到另一個問題,即只能使用2TB磁盤空間。

擴展音量為灰色

如屏幕截圖所示,驅動器H格式化為NTFS,並且有連續的右未分配空間,但“擴展卷”仍顯示為灰色。 如果在“磁盤管理”中右鍵單擊此“未分配空間”,則所有選項都不可用。

在這種情況下,您需要使用 NIUBI Partition Editor (群集大小等於或大於4KB)或 將磁盤從MBR轉換為GPT 然後擴展分區(當群集大小小於4KB時)。

在中禁用擴展音量時的解決方案 Windows 7

似乎有點複雜,但是很容易解決這個問題。 首先,您需要 資料下載 NIUBI Partition Editor 然後根據您的“擴展量”變灰的原因,按照相應的方法進行操作 Windows 7電腦。

1.未分配空間不相鄰時

如果您已收縮驅動器D來獲取未分配的空間,但已為C驅動器禁用了“擴展卷”,則將“未分配的空間”移到左側,然後將其添加到C驅動器中。

NIUBI Partition Editor

修復的步驟 Windows 7擴展量顯示為灰色:

步驟1: 右鍵點擊驅動器 D: 然後選擇“Resize/Move Volume“,拖曳 中間權利 在彈出窗口中。

移動未分配

然後將未分配的空間移到C驅動器旁邊。

未分配移動

步驟2: 右鍵點擊 C: 驅動並選擇“Resize/Move Volume再次拖動 右邊界權利 在彈出窗口中。

添加未分配

然後將未分配的空間添加到系統C驅動器。

未分配已添加

步驟3: 單擊左上方的應用以執行。 (此步驟之前的所有操作只能在虛擬模式下進行。)

2.關於FAT32和邏輯/主分區

當未分配/可用空間相鄰但由於不支持FAT32分區或邏輯分區與主分區之間的限製而導致擴展卷變灰時。 只需按照步驟2合併相鄰的空間即可。

如果要將未分配空間合併到正確的連續分區E,請右鍵單擊E,然後選擇“Resize/Move Volume”,在彈出窗口中向左拖動左邊框。

擴展驅動器E

3.當磁盤大於2TB時

右鍵單擊該磁盤的前面,然後選擇“轉換為GPT磁盤”,然後,按照上述步驟合併未分配的空間。

如果此磁盤分區的群集大小為 4KB 或更大的磁盤空間,您可以將此未分配空間擴展到其他分區(在同一磁盤上),而無需將MBR磁盤轉換為GPT。

啟用擴展音量

解決擴展體積變灰問題的視頻指南

影片指南

綜上所述

由於磁盤管理的固有局限性,通常會遇到擴展卷變灰的問題。 Windows 7/8/10和其他服務器版本。 要解決此問題,請根據自己的磁盤分區類型和結構找出原因,然後按照上述解決方案調整分區大小,移動未分配空間或使用以下方法將MBR磁盤轉換為GPT: NIUBI分區編輯器.

資料下載

Extend Volume is disabled/greyed out in Windows 7

Updated on: September 12, 2019

This article introduces why Extend Volume greyed out in Windows 7 32/64 bit and the solution when Extend Volume is disabled for system C drive or other volumes.

C drive full and low disk space is most common issue on Windows 7 computer, no matter you use laptop or desktop, use SSD or traditional mechanical hard disk for operating system. Nobody likes to recreate disk partitions and then reinstall Windows and all programs. So Microsoft added Shrink Volume and Extend Volume functions in Disk Management to help reallocate disk space without losing data.

However, both functions have limitations which bring trouble while resizing disk partitions. Search by Google and you'll find that many people have the same issue: Extend Volume is disabled for C drive after shrinking D. This article introduces the the possible reasons and how to fix Extend Volume greyed out issue in Windows 7.

Reasons why Windows 7 Extend Volume greyed out

There are 4 common reasons why Extend Volume greyed out in Windows 7 Disk Management, I'll introduce one by one. Open Disk Management and find out your own disk partition configuration and structure.

Reason 1. No adjacent Unallocated space

A 300GB hard disk cannot be increased to 500GB (except VMware/Hyper-V virtual disk), so before extending a drive you should get some Unallocated space. As the name, this space is not allocated to any drive. In Windows XP Disk Management, Unallocated space can only be used to create new drives. In Windows 7, it can be added to other drive to increase partition size.

To get Unallocated space, you may either delete or shrink a drive. After deleting a volume, all its disk space will be converted to Unallocated but you'll lose all files in it. By shrinking a volume, only part of free unused space will be converted to Unallocated but you won't lose files.

Obviously, it's better to shrink a partition to get Unallocated space. The problem is, you can't extend a volume after shrinking other one with Disk Management. As the screen shot shows, Extend Volume is disabled for both C: and E: drive after shrinking D.

Extend Volume disabled

This is because:

  • Shrink Volume function can only make Unallocated space on the right while shrinking any partition.
  • Extend Volume function can only combine Unallocated space to the contiguous partition on the left.

This is the most common issue encountered by Windows computer users.

To extend C: drive partition, you should run third-party software to move Unallocated space from right of D drive to the left. To merge Unallocated space to the right contiguous partition (E:), 3rd-party software is needed, too.

Reason 2. Only NTFS is supported

Another annoying restriction of Extend Volume is that only NTFS partition is supported. You cannot extend FAT32 or any other types of partition even if there is adjacent Unallocated space on the right side.

Extend Volume disabled

However, most of system C drive is formatted with NTFS, so this issue is common for data drives.

In this situation, you also need NIUBI Partition Editor, which has no difference resizing NTFS and FAT32 partitions.

Reason 3. Restriction between Primary and Logical partition

In MBR style hard disk, Free space deleted from a Logical partition can't be extended to any Primary partition. Unallocated space shrink from Primary partition can't be extended to any Logical drives.

Extend Volume greyed out

As I said above, Unallocated space shrunk from D drive is non adjacent to C drive, so Extend Volume greyed out.

Some people tried to delete a partition to get adjacent Unallocated space. It works when you extend a Primary partition by deleting the adjacent Primary partition, or extend a Logical partition by deleting the adjacent Logical drive. But you cannot extend a Primary partition by deleting a Logical partition, or extend a Logical drive by deleting a Primary partition.

As the screen shot shows, Extend Volume greyed out for D drive after deleting the right contiguous partition E.

To convert the Free space to Unallocated, you must delete all Logical drives and the Extended partition.

In MBR disk there are only 4 entries in Master Boot Record, so you can only create 4 Primary partitions or 3 Primary plus an Extended partition. Unlike Primary partition that works as independently, Logical drives are part of the Extended partition, this is the reason why it shows as Free after deleting.

To NIUBI partition Editor, there is also no difference resizing Primary and Logical partitions.

Reason 4. Limitation of MBR disk

Nowadays, hard disks are much larger and it is very common to use 2TB to 4TB disk for personal computers. But if you initialized the large disk as MBR, you'll encounter another problem that you can only use 2TB disk space.

Extend Volume grayed

As the screen shot shows, drive H is formatted as NTFS and there is right contiguous Unallocated space, but Extend Volume is still grayed out. If you right click this Unallocated space in Disk Management, all options are unavailable.

In this situation, you need to extend partition with NIUBI Partition Editor (cluster size is equal or larger than 4KB) or convert disk from MBR to GPT and then extend partition (when cluster size is less than 4KB).

Solution when Extend Volume is disabled in Windows 7

It seems to be a bit complicated but it is very easy to solve this problem. Firstly, you need to Download NIUBI Partition Editor and follow the corresponding method according to the reason why Extend Volume greyed out in your Windows 7 computer.

1. When Unallocated space is nonadjacent

If you have shrank drive D to get Unallocated space but Extend Volume is disabled for C drive, move Unallocated space to the left side, and then add it into C drive.

NIUBI Partition Editor

Steps to fix Windows 7 Extend Volume greyed out issue:

Step 1: right click drive D: and select "Resize/Move Volume", drag middle towards right in the pop-up window.

Move Unallocated

Then Unallocated space is moved next to C drive.

Unallocated moved

Step 2: right click C: drive and select "Resize/Move Volume" again, drag right border towards right in the pop-up window.

Add Unallocated

Then Unallocated space is added to system C drive.

Unallocated added

Step 3: click Apply on top left to execute. (All operations before this step only work in virtual mode.)

2. About FAT32 and Logical/Primary partition

When the Unallocated/Free space is adjacent but Extend Volume greyed out because of not supported FAT32 partition, or the restriction between Logical and Primary partition. Simply follow STEP 2 to combine the adjacent space.

If you want to combine Unallocated space to the right contiguous partition E, right click E and select "Resize/Move Volume", drag left border towards left in the pop-up window.

Extend drive E

3. When your disk is larger than 2TB

Right click front of this disk and select "Convert to GPT Disk", after that, follow steps above to combine Unallocated space.

If the cluster size of this disk partition is 4KB or larger, you can extend this Unallocated space to other partitions (on the same disk) without converting MBR disk to GPT.

Enable Extend Volume

Video guide to fix Extend Volume grayed out issue

Video guide

In Summary

Because of the inherent limitations of Disk Management, it is common to encounter the issue that Extend Volume greyed out in Windows 7/8/10 and other server versions. To solve this problem, find out the reason according to your own disk partition type and structure, and then follow the solutions above to resize partition, move Unallocated space or convert MBR disk to GPT with NIUBI partition Editor.

DOWNLOAD